Would you rather lose the ability to read or lose the ability to speak?

in #language6 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Wow,  an interesting question. My straightforward answer with no doubt would be that I will be ready to lose the ability to speak than the ability to read. There are a few reasons why I say that. From my childhood, I have been trying really hard to shut my mouth in lots of places. I even feel that my life would have been even great if I had shut my mouth in certain instances. So I will be really happy to lose the ability to speak. But from an external perceptive we can easily say that it is a good thing to do but we will know the real value of speaking only if we try to be alone without speaking to anyone. 

Ability to speak

I can't really shut my mouth even though I want to shut my mouth. I'm very good at loose talks. I easily spoil a good conversation with a wrong phrase from my mouth in a wrong timing. I have done that several times and that is when I really feel like losing my ability to speak. 

For this very reason, I have even tried a few things. During my school and college days, I used to chew bubble gums. I used to have gums almost all the time throughout the day. It is just a physiological instruction to my mind not to talk when bubble gum is in my mouth. I speak only when there is a dire need. Otherwise, I will keep chewing bubble gum and will not utter any word. I tried to keep it a practice but it really helped me control my loose talks to a greater extent. Today I look a little better now. But there have been instances even today where I used to feel that it would have been great if I keep my mouth shut. 

Ability to read

I think this is really an important feature that everyone should possess. Our eyes are completely responsible for providing the ability to read. I'm someone with a high thirst towards knowledge. I cannot be without reading anything. Not just reading but without observing. I have tried many times to close my eyes and sit but have been very difficult compared to close my mouth and sit. So I would say naturally reading is something that I'm really fond of so I can never compromise on reading. 

I also feel that any person will be able to easily survive even without the ability to speak to someone. But I don't think that it is easy and possible to be without reading or seeing things. From a spiritual perspective, I think both are taken into consideration. During meditation, people close their eyes and close their mouth and meditate. There is also a practice where people fast the whole day without speaking a single word. Usually, fasting will be something with a restriction to the food we eat but this one is kind of different type of fasting where people refrain from speaking to anyone for the whole day. This is considered to be a high-end spiritual practice that gives you enormous energy. 

Image Source: pixabay.com

Divider
Hope you enjoyed reading the article. Please share your views in the comments section.Divider

Member of the SmartVote community

Sort:  

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to bala41288! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bala41288 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30