Jockey Ridge - Natural Wonder

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Jockey's Ridge

It's amazing that we've been traveling to the Outer Banks for years and never learned of Jockey's Ridge. For some strange reason, I just assumed that Jockey's Ridge was an extension of The Wright's Brother's site (where they first took flight in their plane).

Boy was I wrong! I discovered the difference when I was researching adventures the family might like to do this trip to the Outer Banks, NC. I had taken care of everyone in the family but I wanted to go to a place for 'photography'! That's when Jockey's Ridge popped up in my browser.

Even still, having taken in so many adventures in the course of this trip - from wild horses to wild dolphins and museums - Jockey's Ridge was an after-thought. We were kind of pooped out! But alas we made the trek because we were still holding onto that 'kindness rock' - we had to leave the kindness rock in a nice place! And well, maybe I could get a few (just a few!) photographs out of the visit. ;)

Nothing could have prepared us for what we were about to experience. There are just no words or photographs that can convey the story. In truth, it is a very visceral experience. You travel through a densely populated path with trees and underbrush only to emerge suddenly onto a blank canvas of vast and rolling dunes of sand - as far as the eye can see......

In the distance, on the ridge, people resembled tiny ants with their silhouettes moving clouds of mist. Pinch me! Is this beautiful place real?

If only I was a kite! Or a bird!

The wind blew so hard that I was sure that I could fly! I flew alright! Right to the bottom of a dune only to realize that the trek back up would remind me of gravity. Oh whatever....I'll deal with that later!

These ever changing patterns of sand are created by the shifting winds. How Jockey Ridge was created (the biggest dune in the eastern U.S.) is a natural wonder that doesn't necessarily have a known explanation...just lots of theories and myths.

To think that this amazing place might not be enjoyed today if it weren't for one passionate woman named, Carolista Baum. In 1973, a couple of children were playing on the dunes and noticed a bulldozer flattening out part of Jockey's Ridge. They ran home and told their mother, Carolista and she immediately went into action.

Carolista discovered that the bulldozers were there for a new residential development. Not having the luxury of time, she went to Jockey's Ridge and planted herself in the path of the bulldozers forcing the operators to shut down their equipment. She then quickly organized local residents into what would be called "The People to Preserve Jockey's Ridge" who tirelessly got signed petitions and delivered them to local and state governments.

That same year, the Division of Parks and Recreation, having done feasibility tests for making Jockey's Ridge a state park, issued their report in favor of Jockey's Ridge becoming a park and a year later the dune was declared a National Natural Landmark.

Over time, the state was able to save 420 acres.

It truly was the most perfect place to leave our "Little Rock of Kindness"

To read "The Little Rock of Kindness" story -> https://steemit.com/writing/@youhavewings/little-rock-of-kindness

Sort:  

This is so beautiful!!! Hooray Carolista Baum :) I bet you guys are happy that you pushed yourself to go to Jockey Ridge!!

I'm passing your post on to c-squared in the hopes that they visit :)

Thank you, @lynncoyle1! I've been holding onto this for quite a while. It was a good day to share though ;)

Don't you know Carolista Baum had to be an amazing person/mother. I am definitely going to look into her story more and maybe next year we'll leave a 'Thank You Carolista Baum Rock' Oh, I'm already excited just thinking about that.

Thank you for passing on to c-squared!

I just hope people enjoy Jockey's Ridge and I so much enjoy reading everyone's comments - my favorite part of posting actually.

Love to you and Brian

BTW....I'm out of steem AGAIN - always! I will have to catch up tomorrow. :)

Awww, I love the "thank you" rock idea @youhavewings!! She must have been something else!

You're most welcome; you're posts often grow so quickly (which is a good thing:), so I hope c2 shows before then 😅

Thanks for the love; right back atcha ❤️

Inspiring story. I've never heard of this place, but it's beautiful.

Inspiring story.
I've never heard of this place,
But it's beautiful.

                 - blockurator


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you so much, @haikubot. It truly is a beautiful place - memorable experience to visit

It sure looks amazing. Endless, makes me wish I could fly high in that beautiful blue sky ... And I do believe that dreams do come true, but not without putting the right amount of effort in.

Great photos @youhavewings.

Followed

It is good that people were able to defend this unique place and did not allow to destroy it with new buildings. It looks incredibly beautiful. I don't have the words, but I don't need them here. I just want to look, I want to go on this sand and really soar up. This is an unreal beauty

It's truly amazing, @madlenfox I hope that you can visit one day and soar. I didn't know what to expect and so didn't have the forethought of planning the time to go, but just before sunset would be a great time to go. If you look at the photographs (fine art photography), you'll find that the dunes and patterns transform with the colors of the sunset.

Dunes are amazing! @youhavewings, changing the pattern is how nature draws its unique pictures before our eyes. Thank you! I wish you a pleasant weekend


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wonderful place.
The photo with the kite gives me a sense of immense freedom.
Thank you for sharing

That is exactly what you feel when there, @lady-idra. I'm glad I was able to convey that through pictures a little bit - although they really don't give you the full effect. Freedom is definitely a feeling that you feel. Visually, it is unbelievable - dream like.

I've never heard of this place before! I'm vaguely familiar with Kitty Hawk, but had no clue about this dune. Now, thanks to your wicked awesomesauce shots @youhavewings, I want to take the family (we're in New Hampshire) on a road trip! What an amazing story behind the preservation of this place too - thanks for sharing eye candy and brain food, all in one post! Oh, and that Little Rock of Kindness looks wonderfully content in its new home!

Your family will LOVE this place! It's breathtakingly beautiful and the kids have so much fun. Worth the drive - promise!

Thank you, Carolista Baum! She must have been a really amazing person/mom :)

The Little Rock of Kindness was picked up by a young girl. I was blessed enough to get to witness it. She was the only one after so many adults passed it by too distracted. She picked it up and her face lit up and then she started dancing around sharing with her friends. It was very sweet - heartwarming.

That's wicked awesomesauce! Being able to see the young girl find the rock sounds like the cherry on top of an amazing ice cream sundae kind of day! And thanks for sharing that tidbit - totally made me morning imagining her joy. 😊

Funny too - I was just telling hubby last night about a random memory I have from when I was probably about 5 years old. Long story short, my grampy showed up at our house with his dog Ozzie (a beagle), and I didn't realize it until Ozzie "magically" appeared next to me. I bet that little girl remembers that moment fondly for the rest of her life too.

Awww what a sweet memory, @traciyork :) Thank you so much for sharing that - I think 'love' often does make the best memories - the ones we keep - the ones that keep on giving.

Hope you continue having a joy-filled day ;)

Very true, and the same to you, @youhavewings! 😊

Great article! Congrats you made it to the top 10 this week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68