My first snowshoe tour within the halo :)

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

a few weeks ago, the weather and avalanche conditions were perfect for my first snow shoe tour this year.

PC020012.jpg

So I packed my equipment in the evening to go to the beautiful Allgäu Alps in Bavaria the next day early in the morning.

DSC00079.jpg

The weather was perfect, there was enough snow, the sun was shining and in the evening I was even allowed to admire the supermoon.

DSC00074.jpg

When I arrived in the Allgäu I first visited at a beautifully iced tobel landscape.
You see my post about this little paradise here. ;-)

»» The little winter wonderland... ««

After a short meal break, I strapped on my snowshoes and started my tour to the mountain.

DSC00091.jpg

After a few meters, I was able to admire a beautiful halo effect in the sky, the blissful optical phenomena enjoyed me almost the entire mountain hike.

DSC00083.jpg

Halo is the name of a optical phenomena produced by light interacting with ice crystals suspended in the atmosphere. Halos can have many forms, ranging from colored or white rings to arcs and spots in the sky. Many of these are near the Sun or Moon, but others occur elsewhere or even in the opposite part of the sky. (Wikipedia)

DSC00093.jpg

Usually I planned to wait on the mountain for the supermoon in the evening and capture some photos from a nice perspective.

PC020036.jpg

But the weather changed, the clouds become darker and a little snow storm began.

PC020039.jpg

In the vicinity of a refuge, I took another break and hoped that the weather will improve again and a clear sky and the supermoon can be seen.
After waiting for some time, I continued to hike to my car, which stood a few hours away in the valley.

DSC00109.jpg

A few minutes after i started my journey back home, the cloudy sky cleared out and the supermoon showed up. So i quickly stopped, put up my tripod and was able to catch some nice photos... :)

DSC00111.jpg

It was a magical, blissful hiking day in the mountains and i can't wait for my next tour... :)

What about you? Do you also like the pure nature, climbing in the mountains or hiking in beautiful woods? Leave me a comment below! ;-)


This post and the pictures within it are also a entry for the #LandscapePhotography contest hosted by @juliank and @photocontests.


Feel free to comment, follow or upvote ;-)

| Facebook: mindscapephotos
| Instragram: @mindscapephotos
| Steemit: @mindscapephotos

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

A snowshoe tour seems exhausting but fun. Never really tried it, only when forced after loosing the skis in deep snow.

Oh yes, it's really a lot of fun, you should try it some time... :)

I absolutely agree.. You don't have to make a long tour... maybe one or two hours!? You can go to places where you wouldn't go without the snowshoes.. but pay attention in the wild... it might be dangerous...

A very beautiful snowfield. I've never been there before, wanting to taste the white of snow.

Thank you!
You should try it, you will not regret it, it makes a lot of fun ;)

That's right dude @mindscapephotos. Not just the snow so seductive, but sunlight if I see from your photo is very beautiful too. I had to try it, although I did not know when I could get there.

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Nice one, @mindscapephotos! It just so happens that today I discovered a halo in the sky while I was running around town. It truly is quite magical - especially since we haven't had that sunshine too much up here lately..

Very nice set you have there, I'll pop around a bit later to check out your account!

kindest regards,

Esa

Thank you so much :)
I just saw your picture of the halo, it's really beautiful!
The magical feeling when you see such stunning natural phenomenons is indescribable.
I think you know what i mean... ;)

I do! We get aurora borealis from time to time all over Finland but these halo things aren't that common. Last year there was a nice picture in the paper (captured somewhere around where I live) and I kicked myself for not catching it. Now I finally got it!

Wow, I'm a little bit envious right now... :D
I never saw aurora borealis in real life yet, but it's definitely a life wish to visit the north for some months and enjoy all its beautiful nature and phenomenas. :)

It's really nice and better if you catch it out in the countryside where there's less light pollution

Absolutely love the halo. Saw one around the moon last week... like a rainbow surrounding the whole moon... Nearly tripped over running for my dslr... :)

Upvoted!

Thank you :)
A halo around the moon sounds beautiful. could you capture some pictures?

Sorry it took me a few days to get to it.

Here's a photo I managed to get (handheld & small bit of raw editing so it brings out the colour the way I saw it):

_MG_1584.jpg

I never saw anything like it before!

Thanks for sharing this wonderful photo @mindscapephotos
We don't have winter season here in Philippines that's why I envy you for having this beautiful scenery.:)

Thank you for this nice words :)
In the Philippines you have other beautiful scenery, some day i will visit it... :)

My pleasure..
Ohh please visit Philippines and you are very welcome here..
Yes.. check my profile I uploaded some photos near our place..
Keep in touch @mindscapephotos

outstanding, such a breathtaking view.
Good work man!

Great photos, thanks for sharing ;)

Aaaah, I can feel snow under my feet. Love that sound!
👍

Hahaha, oh yes, the sound is really lovely :)

Nice pictures and amazing landscape!
Have fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79