Steemian Storybook No. 12 : Project Curie : @curie

in #kr8 years ago (edited)

Sudan which is positioned in Eastern Africa had been state of war for several decades. Continuous Sudanese Civil War made innocent victims and war orphans. Daniel Omar, young 14-year-old by, lost his two arms in Sudanese Civil War. Two american surgeon miraculously saved Daniel, but they could not save his tow arms. Daniel barely escaped death, but what he said made his family heartbreak. He said: Losing tow arms, there are nothing I can do. I could not fight. I would be a burden to my family. I would die, if I could.

Mick Ebeling, american producer and medical philanthropist was told Daniel's sorrowful story and the story moved Ebelign to make an project: Project Daniel. In 2010, Ebeling made EyeWriter which helps people to draw by eye movement. EyeWriter was selected Top 50 invention in Time. He also founded 'Not Impossible Lap', non-government organization which gives technical and economical solution to physically challenged people. After being told, Ebeling determined to start a project: Project Daniel.
In 2013, Ebeling and his colleague visited Yida, Sudan where 70 thousands of refugees reside. After 2 years he lost two arms, Daniel could make a meal by prosthetic arms that Ebeling gave. Protected by family, Daniel could help himself. Project Daniel was not started only for Daniel. Supported by Precipart and Intel, 'Not Impossible Lap' had tablet PC and 3D printer. What they pursuit was to construct sustainable environment to make prosthetic arms in field location.

I want to make project like Project Daniel. Before Steemit was developed, in order to make non-profit project, it needs lot of money. So ordinary people like me could conduct such project only by imagining. Steemit change everything. If I had intention to participate project, I could achieve my goal by just one-click in Steemit.
Thank you @curie. In high school, some of my friends want to be artist, musician, and author. But it was nearly impossible to live as artist, musician and author. Only As I know only few people could success in these fields, I'm sorry to say 'Hey, everything goes well, don't worry.' But now with Steemit and Project Curie my friends get close to their dream.

*어설픈 글에 격려와 지지를 보내주시는 kr 커뮤니티 멤버분들에게 깊이 감사드립니다.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87