Camera Shy Bee On Poppy

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

This week, #KillerPix by @killerwhale is going to bee a honey of a challenge!

We were kicked back enjoying the nice spring evening and admiring the poppies that are beginning to bloom. They are such a delicate looking flower, yet will remain standing tall against the gale force winds that can get ripping through here. Tough as nails and graceful as butterfiles, I do love the poppies. I was going for a backlit shot, like this...

DSCF2576.JPG

All pictures taken with Fuji FinePix S8300 last night in my yard.

As I snapped that pic, a bee buzzed into the area and crawled up into a blossom. I began frantically snapping pics as the bee bobbed and weaved and darted out of frame over and over...

DSCF2557.JPG

Ducking out the bottom!


DSCF2550.JPG

Breaking out the topside!



DSCF2555.JPG
Ooo! Headshot! But fuzzy...


No, I have NOT included every bad shot I got... lol! But you know how it is when you get a bee in your bonnet... I wanted a nicely lit shot of that flower with a bee in it... so I kept clicking!
DSCF2549.JPG

Did that bee say "Nom, nom?"


After playing hide and seek with me for several shots he finally snuggled deep into the flower, leaving his cute little butt exposed for my entertainment!

DSCF2554.JPG

He stayed right there while I took several pictures... Is this how bees catch their buzz?

As he began to crawl back out of his happy place, I got a few more shots. This would have been just awesome if it was in focus, dammitol!

DSCF2559.JPG

Oh, bae-bee, you are breaking my heart!

After at least a dozen shots of just bee head, just bee butt, bee out of focus, bee out of frame... I GOT IT!!! One great shot, just in time to bee my official entry into the #killerpix contest this week!

DSCF2553.JPG

Flower, bug and sun, together at last (in my picture.) BEE-autiful!




www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

Just don't you hate it when nature won't cooperate with taking photos? But you finally succeeded and that is awesome. Patience finally paid off! A gorgeous shot!

I am ashamed of the things I called the bee... lol!

I LOVE this 🌸🐝 looks like you had a 'fun' time 🤣 creating an entertaining piece out of your contest entry. And, kudos to the poppy too! Boy they are something 🍉🍅🍑 always a pleasure Fishy 😉

Mother Nature had her own agenda, right?

Oh, I am so captivated by the glowing poppies, showing off their shadow! You really nailed this shot!

Tip!

Thank you! I would say "There was nothing to it" but I already made a post about everything that went into it... lol!

I love poppies. I posted a pic earlier this week :) although mine doesn't have the second color, it is only orange

That is a California poppy, a smaller cousin to the variety I have. Mine is not really two-toned, the petals are just so thin that even a little backlight makes them look multicolored.

Beautiful pics. Love the color. Nice show!

Thank you! I have often thought of all the flowers I wish I could just turn into a skirt, the poppy would be among my favorite. Imagine those colors on your ball gown as you spun around the palace... lol!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Hi @fishyculture! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Splendorous Days Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34