Six Weeks of Summer - Week 6: The Ragged School Museum (vlog)

in #kids7 years ago

A Victorian school

At least once a year during the school holidays either me or my husband takes the kids to The Ragged School Museum - https://www.raggedschoolmuseum.org.uk/ - it's a small museum that used to be a school in the Victorian times. It was opened by Dr Bernado in around 1877 and the poorest children in the East End of London used to attend. Now it's a museum which is free to enter and has lots of activities for kids during half terms and the six week holidays.

IMG_2831.JPG

Four floors to explore

Being in The Ragged School Museum is like stepping back in time. There are 4 floors to explore in total - the basement has a play area for under fives and a cafe, the ground floor has a gift shop and a display of information on the history of the museum and a dressing up area. They also have a face painter set up there during school holidays. The first floor has a Victorian classroom and an arts and crafts room and the second floor has a Victorian kitchen set up and more arts and crafts for kids to take part in.

image3.JPG

A slice of Victorian life

Me and my elder daughters found it super interesting to take a step back in time in the area that we live in. The volunteers are armed with lots of info about the school and you get a real slice of Victorian life.

IMG_2820.JPG

Combine it with a visit to Mile End Park

Today it was rainy so we stayed in the museum but on a sunny day it's nice to combine the visit with a trip to Mile End Park which is across the road. The Ragged School Museum is not a whole day trip but you can happily spend a couple of hours here with kids.

image2.JPG

Watch the vlog for more info if you're planning a trip to the museum or if you just want to find out what we got up to!

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

NICE WORK! Great vlog. I've just posted my first Steemit post inc. a vlog about Edinburgh Fringe Festival :)

Thanks for watching. Sounds cool I will check it out.

I love all the places and activities you take your kids to. This particular one I think would be interesting for my youngest who is homeschooled.

Thanks for reading :)
I thought about homeschooling my kids at one point but thought I might end up crazy! Were your older kids homeschooled too?

Awww, miss all you girlies! Big love and hugs xx

Miss you loads!! Xx

It's very interesting! You know that the first time i hear about it? you are talking about this huge museum which really make me wish to visited it.
A lot of 😘 kisses from me to your adorable daughters.

Thank you :)
Yes not many people know about this museum but it's really nice for kids.

Recently stumbled upon your 6 weeks of summer series. I love it.
I love how you take your kids to places that are fun yet often educational (like the Tower of London, Stratford Story Center, ect.).
I also love how you get your daughter involved in the video making her show what she has learned.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents and #teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

Thank you for checking out my posts. I have had a look at your blog and will be following you now.
I'm a big believer that learning is not just about books, but about experiences too :)

Wow...its a nice trip to have...l can imagine the excitement it comes with...nice

It was a fun day :)
Thank for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98