Having an hyperactive kid

in #kids6 years ago (edited)

tumblr_ljoq6mdKtp1qze5g2o1_500.gif

I have two sons and the oldest one is 7 years old. He is a very hyperactive child since a very young age. The first time I noticed he is hyperactive was when he was able to walk. When we have our meal, wether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, he just couldn't sit still and had to walk, stand or jump. Until now he is like that. He just can not sit and eat his meal until it's finished. When he has something to say during dinner, he always has to stand up. Normally we would just say something while we are sitting. He just can't do that. I don't think he ever ate his meal once without standing up or jumping around. He also has problems finishing his little projects and jumps from one game to another.

During spring and summer I like to walk big distances with my boys and I noticed that he really likes it and actually doesn't get tired. We like to walk 10 km and when we arrive I am super exhausted and need to take a nap. My oldest is not tired at all and he continues to jump on the couch.... I wish I had his energy level!

Some mothers would say I have a child with ADHD but I have to disagree with them. ADHD is a myth is my eyes. Some people just easily give children that stamp. Then that kid needs to go to the doctor and needs to swallow medicine. Medicine for being an extra active child. Being (hyper) active is NOT a disease and I think with giving them medicine it will only make it worser. Some kids are just more active than others.

wppsi-studying-hard-boy.jpg

My son has also concentration problems and I hear that from the teachers too. He often has to say something and interrupt the teachers or his parents. So actually he is verbally very strong. My son is a very smart boy but because he is always moving with his legs on his chair it looks like he is not able to do his assignments. The teacher says he makes very often spelling mistakes but when I ask him at home how to spell certain words I noticed that he can do it when he takes his time and not rushing. He often likes to rush and that makes him making many unnecessary mistakes which is a pity.

640px-Bedtime_reading.jpg

He likes to read books in his bed when it is bedtime and can not sleep yet. In the beginning when it was time for him to go to bed and could not sleep he was being super active and went to us many times giving us reasons why he can not sleep yet. Nowadays it seems he knows that reading books keep him calm before falling asleep.

110928032015-play-date-left-out-story-top.jpg

When I pick my kids up from school he often says that nobody invited him to play at their place. What is more sad to see that when he invites another boy and that boy doesn't want. If I look at my youngest son, he is very often invited by other kids. So my oldest son gets very often jealous. So nowadays what I do, is doing something fun together with my oldest son and saying that he has his mama all for himself. Sometimes kids play at our place and when I observe the kids I see that my oldest son can be a bit too wild and bossy. My youngest son can play very well with other kids but my oldest just can't do it. I often have to say that he should ask what the other kid wants to play, but some how it doesn't really work and he keeps being a little boss telling other kids with what they have to play and then they are fighting and that other kid doesn't want to play with my oldest son anymore.

So I am not not sure what to do in these situations. I often tell him that he should let other kids choose with what they want to play, but it doesn't seem to work. Sometimes I also say that it is ok and that I was also never invited when I was young, which is true. When I was young I wasn't invited by other kids but the older I got I also became more of an individual and I don't really mind that. If you have any tips for us please let me know :-)

Source images: 1 2 3 4

follow_fathin-shihab.gif

Sort:  

Great read 👍
Frankly I often think I am/was as a kid ADHD but never was officially labeled or treated. I question the medications given to treat this but it would of been helpful having knowing.

Maybe you were just VERY active as a child :-)

good article

Great article my dear friend @fathin-shihab.

Thank you so much for sharing this post.☺

Fantastic read. When I was a kid my mother banned me from drinking milk and orange juice as it made me to bananas like super hyper. I saw it as well with a couple of my friends with their young brothers when they used to drink orange juice or a fizzy drink they just go bananas. One kid Daniel used to get so hyper he looked like he was dancing so the kids in his year used to call him Dancing Daniel.

Thanks @makkizakki. I am not sure of milk and orange juice causes him to be like this. Maybe with candies/cookies/soda. But for him it doesn't matter if he has no sugar, he keeps jumping, being wild :-). I think many boys are like that, just some are hyperactive and some just active.

Also I think kids start school to early as well at the age of 5. I think the age should be put up to around 7 to 8 years old and then give a kid a proper education until they reach around 18. But in schools they never teach you for the afterlife once you leave school. Kids have too much energy and sitting in the classroom from the age of 5 is a terrible thing to do to a kids mindset especially when they have so much energy to burn off.

Yes thats true, nowadays kids also have exams at age 5...and sitting very long is indeed not what kids like to do.

I think the devious system just wants to drain any kind of creativity out of kids the younger the better it seems with them. With this could prove to be bad as it could make kids more unhappy, unhealthier and a huge chance of major weight problems too.
I was watching some documentary recently about the kids of today how their teeth are. A lot of them are losing their adult teeth with all the drinks and food they are all eating nowadays. So they end up getting like a cheaper option of having tooth or teeth implanted.

Parents become less strict to kids. My kids bring always milk to school. But many kids say milk is disgusting, to him. Its sad that they always bring sweet drinks to school. My kids have amazing teeth because I am vey strict with sweets and sweet drinks.

I stopped drinking cow milk well over a year ago and started drinking almond milk instead. I understand why you are very strict with sweets and sweet drinks too. In my childhood I was banned from eating chocolate biscuits, canned fizzy drinks and I think been raised by a single parent made it harder to actually have sweets and sweet drinks. Only time I got chocolate was at Easter and at Christmas time. I only got one fillings in my childhood so it wasn`t too bad and a gum brace where they put a little spring to straighten my front tooth after it grew in sideways instead of frontways. At least I only had to wear that gum brace for only 6 weeks.

Well, your mother must be a very strong person raising you and maybe your siblings all by herself.

Amazing post and very well written about hyperactive kids.
Thanks @fathin-shihab for sharing this post.😊

Have a good day!!

Saya rasa ini permasalahan yang serius sekali My dear @fathin-shihab, ketika kecil dulu saya juga termasuk orang yang sulit bergaul, namun seiring berjalannya waktu saya terus belajar untuk bisa berbaur bersama teman teman, bahkan ketika saya sudah berumur 31 tahun saat ini pergaulan saya bersama teman teman semakin banyak. Saya rasa ajari sedikit cara orang dewasa bergaul padanya, ajari dia sedikit hal hal yang belum ada diseputaran teman temannya agar dia menjadi berpengaruh karena kreatifitas yang dimilikinya.

Saya dulu termasuk murid paling bodoh dikelas, saya tidak memiliki kreatifitas yang bisa memengaruhi teman teman agar bergaul dengan saya, hingga suatu saat diadakan pertandingan table tenis antar sekolah, karena saya sering latihan bersama ayah dirumah saya pun dengan mudah mengalahkan semua teman teman disekolah dan akhirnya saya menjadi perwakilan disekolah untuk bertanding. Sejak saat itu saya menjadi perhatian teman teman yang lain untuk mengajak saya mengajari mereka bermain pimpong dan bahkan saya juga dapet pacar ketika itu. He he he he nostalgia masa masa SLTP.

Semoga share ini bermanfaat, Happy New year and greeting from Aceh sumatra Indonesia. :)

Terima kasih atas komennya. Anak saya tidak susah bergaul/malu, dia banyak ngobrol.Cuma dia suka jadi boss. Itu masalahnya. Happy New Year juga dan salam dari Belanda. :-).

Rumit juga ya kak kalau begitu, saya juga memiliki seorang putra saat ini, makanya tertarik baca postingan kakak biar bisa belajar juga menghadapi persoalan begini kalau nantinya terjadi sama putra saya juga :D ,Salam kenal ya kak :)

This for sharing your personal post @fathin-shihab. I totally agree with you when you are saying that ADHD is a myth is your eyes and that some people just easily give children that stamp. I do not believe in giving children unnecessary medicine either. My brother just couldn't sit still when he was a child. And now he is a very intelligent grown man with a successful career and even a company of his own. So I have faith that your boy will grow up to be an excellent man. I think he is smart and sometimes the way they teach at school is a little bit boring to him.

About the fact to be invited by other kids I will ask around for you. Because I do not have kids, and don't have any experience with this matter.

Thanks @diamondinform. Good to know you have a brother who was also like that and that it all went well with your brother and owning his own company :-). Yes, at school it can be boring for him, no challenge. He likes to be challenged. When I ask him how school was, he never say anything special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91