Locked out

in #keys5 years ago

I went to the store today to get something to drink and at the same time for a little walk to get that circulation flowing. It's weird but there is so much to do nowadays I find myself constantly buried in things and things I should be doing. I was hoping the one positive thing from a brutal bear market would be the silence and "let's wait around to see what happens" and all the people going into hibernation until the market changes course. Nope instead there's so much to and so many projects being built on steem it feels like we're living in this alternate universe where the market doesn't affect us. Which is a good thing and compared to other projects and their dependence of funding and fiat with coins that are mostly just going to miners I think we're doing exceptionally well. Not to mention this market is forcing new dapps to not rely on delegation and the reward pool for funding but forcing them to figure out other income sources for their projects such as as revenue. This will be very important next bull run.

Anyway so as I make my way back to my apartment I'm grabbing for my keys and it hits me that I never picked them up. First thing I think about is what I was doing as I was walking out the door that lead me to forget them and of course it was something steem related. Before I go down the road if thinking how much I could use a break from it soon the next thing I think about and have to instantly check is how much battery life I have left on my phone knowing how long it will take until my roommate is home with the keys.

It's not like I have such important time sensitive things that need taking care of through my phone, more like the thought of not having my phone to mess with while waiting us the thought that would be the worst. Imagine having to wait without doing anything. Kinda weird that that's the worst case scenario in my mind right now but I'm guessing the majority of people rely on their phones just as much nowadays to keep them entertained and sane.

Anyway, was not so boring after all and in an hour or so I'll be back inside. Found some time to just read posts and try to remember who the users are that remained active during these trying times so they can be rewarded a bit extra next time we're doing well. :)

Found yourself locked out recently? I hope you had your phone to keep you entertained.

Sort:  

I once locked myself out of my car during a pretty brutal rainstorm, while the car was running (I think I was just leaving the movie theater, and just stepped out of the car to grab a parking ticket off the windshield after starting the car).

Took about an hour for a friend to arrive with the spare key -- but I sure felt like an idiot when about 5 minutes after getting locked out, the rain stopped, and my car was running with the wipers going at full speed for another 55 minutes.

About 5 years ago I was renting a place with my girlfriend. She was out of town until next morning so I decided to go to a bar alone. I obviously got shitfaced there and after a while decided to go home.

When I reach the door I search for my keys. Naturally, I managed to lose them on my way home. God, I was so drunk. I had to wait for her to come in the morning and explain what I was doing outside of the apartment building considering I told her the night before that I was going to watch a movie and go to sleep.

Needless to say, she wasn't my girlfriend after that lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’ve not locked myself out in quite a while. I’m normally the person people contact “you know that spare key you had? Do you still have it? Ya, I ummm ,lock myself out.” Everyone always has just a tad too much on their minds as well when it happens. Sometimes it just nice to have a forced break from all the things that are consuming every hour.

40+ years ago I had the bad habit of locking my keys in the car. So I had a piece if coat hanger tucked under the hood that I could pop the door lock. Not something that would be doable now a days.

When we moved onto our new house a few months ago, we closed and locked the garage and the door handle broke so we could not get in. My brother in law had to shimmy a long flathead into the side and basically break in. I don’t know how he knew how to do that but it was like second nature to him. What a scumbag. Lol

Oh shit dude xD It's real survival stuff nowadays if one gets left without the phone! But when you finally find the peace without having to take the phone from the pocket, that's a good feeling :)

I haven't locked my self out but I once lost a whole key ring with €800 worth of keys (we lived in a rental back then and the the garage had a separate key) attached to it about four years ago. I had dropped it onto the ground on a parking lot in central Lahti during heavy snowfall. I had not noticed it until I got home. I went back to search for it but couldn't find it. It was my birthday some months later when I went to the police station. Their lost and found desk had it. One of the keys that happened to be an old one to my parents' house in Tampere that was of the type you could freely take copies of was bent by a snow plow. All the other keys were there and unharmed. The keys were found on down the street two blocks away.

I had already resigned to the thought that the key chain would probably end up in Lake Vesijärvi or wherever they dump the snow collected from the streets. I'd say it was one of the best birthdays in my life.

I got locked out once but I was not intending to go out, I just went outside to play with my dog and I threw him the ball and it went towards the door, he chased it ofc and he crashed against the door and closed it... I was left outside for 2 hours until my mom returned and opened the door lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not wind up locked out, but I did have an audition today that I took the bus to. So an hour of just enjoying the world, finished reading Fisherman of the Inland Sea, then 10 minutes of acting, then an hour of enjoying the world, scrolling through steemit.

These breaks the world forces on us are nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yestedray I went to the dentist. I waited like an hour. It was the easiest thing to do. Thanks to the phone and steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85