keto and diabetes

in #undefined6 years ago

I have Type 2 diabetes. That means my body is insulin resistant and has a hard time maintaining normal blood sugar. My blood sugar is high and I take Metformin to regulate it at the moment. Diabetes is known as a pretty progressive disease- it gets worse the longer it goes on.

I've been overweight all of my life. Now I'm morbidly obese, breaking the scales at almost 400 pounds. My body doesn't feel like my own anymore. I look at myself and my thighs look odd. My stomach is so much larger than ever before. I feel trapped inside my body.

It sounds dramatic, but it's how I feel. And I'm going to use the ketogenic diet to change my health future and take charge of my life. Doing keto means I'll be eating higher fat with incredibly low carbs with a moderately low protein.

Some people are able to lose an incredible amount of weight with no exercise. It seems like my body isn't going to go that route, so I'm going to include exercise. At this time, I'm doing Just Dance 2019 on my PS4. It sounds ridiculous, but it's so much fun. I'm dancing and laughing and having a good time. I'm also increasing my heart rate, sweating, and moving my body more than I have in recent memory. This week I'm dancing at a minimum of 12 minutes a day. And each week I'll increase the minimum by 3 minutes until I reach 30. After the 30 minutes week, I'll reassess and decide if I'm going to keep with doing Just Dance exclusively, add something new, or doing something entirely new.

I haven't been sure what I should do with this profile, but not I've decided that I'm going to blog my journey. I'll be potentially recipes in here and talking about my ups and downs. I don't know how it's going to go, but I this could be a decent way to get motivated and hold myself accountable.

Have you tried the keto diet? Let me know in the comments. And share any favorite recipes! I'm always on the look for new ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62