Over the Edge :: [She Likes It - Keangaroo Contest Entry]

in #keangaroo6 years ago (edited)

This is a submission for @carolkean's open-ended 'She Liked It' writing contest, which allows either poetry or a story. Since I've thrown depressing post-apocalyptic fiction at her in the past, I've gone a more merciful route here. I hope.

The rules stipulate using 'She Liked It' in a piece of writing. I changed the tense to present, 'She Likes It', which I hope does not disqualify me.

Over the Edge

Betwixt moss-green rocks
And earthen bed of stones
The sparkling stream prances.
A most musical laugh, indeed
Springs free.
And still hides between the trees.
(poem preview only)






Photo by @negativer, taken in central Wisconsin on a nice summer day.

Sort:  

I love the personification of the stream, and how joyful she is in being what she is. I wonder, who is the speaker in this? A leaf floating along?

I like your thought here. I totally had not pictured a leaf, but it probably is way better than what I was picturing. I love your idea!

Who are you and what did you do with NEG? 😂

I knew you had joy and positivity in you, and how lovely it came out here!

From hillock to hollow,
The wending, singing girl

I just love your word selection, this especially. Really well done, good luck!

I save up my positive thoughts in a tiny box for months until it finally fills up, then I use those words to create something uplifting. Then I put the box away, maybe for the last time. But eventually, it does fill up again!

Thx for reading!

I have witnessed this! Never say never! 😊

I love it!
But not this nonsense about being disqualified for bending a rule when I clearly state I do not enforce rules! You can have she/they/he liked it; you could say they hated it!
I trust you knew this Neg and you were only kidding -
But, lest other readers see this and don't realize that.
You cannot be Disqualified for breaking rules that don't exist!
I'm not even firm about deadlines.

I say that in jest because I DO know you @carolkean :) You're always flexible and never want the prompt to truly get in the way of the writing. Word count, deadlines, prompts, all of that is flexible in your challenges, and I like that. Nothing worse than a mound of effort being washed away on a technicality :)

Thanks much for reading!

So, what you’re saying is you just want people to write? It’s just all about the creative process?? I don’t understand.... 😄

That’s awesome.

No! there must be rules! Must be....something to guide me...I need boundaries...haaalp

Ha ha. You’re doing just fine. Plus I think of you as a “rules are made to be broken” type. Am I wrong? 🧐

Actually, possibly I am an 'I don't know what the rules are and I'd prefer to stay that way' type. Blissfully ignorant?

Hmm. Sounds rather squishy....he liked it. 🤣

Well done, good sir. Even if you are disqualified for changing the tense, I appreciate the word art.

Thank you sir. ^_^

No Disqualified!
Neg!
Tell everyone you were KIDDING!

Lovely work sir... Especially this line's

Run, I urge myself,
Run on, into what you feel.
The waterfall lies ahead.
Its angelic laughter rises.
My ear
Tickled, too, at what I hear.

Blessings to you @negativer

XD The depressing sci-fi thing XDDD
It's a really nice poem you've got there though! It reads like an aged polaroid photo. <3

Wow

this is a rather cheerful and carefree poem. something I wish I could write at the moment

She smiles, she laughs, she likes it.

👌

Chuckles

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39