Moms Say The Dardnest Things

in #joke5 years ago (edited)

I visited my Mom for Christmas and was eating lunch by myself at the dining room table.

My Mom comes into the room and stands next to me to chat.

After a few minutes she makes a face and says:

"Matt, now don't take this the wrong way, but you smell very ripe."

Confused, I assure her that I shower regularly and wear deodorant. [What the hell, Mom?]

"I don't smell anything. I have no idea," I responded trying to not have it be super awkward.

She then says, "Oh wait, maybe it's the onions you're eating. Yes, yes it is. Sorry. I hope I didn't offend you."

...The next day, eating the same thing, my brother walks in and says "Woooo, so that's the smell Mom was talking about. Those onions are strong!!"


@steemmatt

Sort:  

😂😂😂😂😂

Hey, it’s not just moms. At Christmas my grandfather (who I don’t talk to much and haven’t seen since probably last Christmas) came and set next to me to chat. He, in a very serious voice, said “Well Justine, I’ve got one thing to tell you.. at least you aren’t fat.” 🤔 and that was his message for the day. I mean, “thank you” is what came to mind.. but the seriousness of the situation was lost on me 😂

Moral of the story- People are a crazy mess.. but it makes life fun.

and seriously, lay off the onions dude

"I've got one thing to tell you too, Grandpa! You're not foolin' anyone with that toupée!"

Moral -- I lost 3 of my grandparents by the time I was 1, and the other had alzheimer's, so as awkward, ridiculous or distant as they can be at times, it's a blessing to have them in your life. (Preaching to the choir.)

Congratulations @steemmatt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75