How I Miraculously escaped blood transfusion (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago (edited)

It only leaves me wondering each time I remember that extraordinary experience, it's indeed a Miraculous Recovery!

1434846-worldblooddonorday-1497412472-653-640x480.jpg
Source
How can I ever forget 30th of October 2010? It still smells fresh in my mind, not just because of the wonders of that night but because every 30th day of October happens to be the exact same day I celebrate my birthday! That day marked my darkest birthday ever!


My name is Seth, second son of a blessed and highly devoted Christian couple from Nigeria. I'm very active and love to think. Of all my other siblings (three), I happen to be the most versatile, strong at heart, brave in mind and I find writing, a pleasurable hobby.

I write about a vast area of life but each time I'm placed at the position of writing about my experiences, it almost seem like a hard nut to crack.

In the next paragraph, I will be letting you in on one of my most concealed life experience. Yeah, concealed because I can't remember ever talking or writing about it.


I woke at about 6:23am that cozy Friday morning (29th of October, 2010), joined my family for the devotion and went off straight to brush off my teeth. I couldn't stand the sight of the well-prepared indomie noodles, garnished with some sardines and chips, and neatly arranged at the dining table for breakfast.

Mom had already prepared that as early as 5:30am (as she often does), I smiled as I took off to the sink, did a quickie, and in no time, I was at the table. Everyone was set, we said the breakfast prayer! Ha! Ha!

Yeah, we say a breakfast prayer and it goes thus:

Father, thank you for the morning,
We love it because you made it so,
We thank you for the breakfast,
Please let it be a nourishment to our systems,
May it give us enough strength for the rest of the day,
As we eat, may we be blessed!
Amen!

Off it went, the sheets were lifted and the meal was served. I enjoyed every grind of the soft delicious noodles, drank the milk on the table and I felt like the whole wide world is so beautiful and delicious!

Thanked mom and dad, and then went off to catch a short break (rest to allow for a good digestion of the meal). Thirty minutes later, the meal had been well digested and I was off to the pitch to play football.

Mom had constantly warned me against playing football, saying I could get injured in the process. As an amateur, well, i knew a few quick hacks to evade the spiky boots of opponents during tackles, so I told her not to worry.

Ten minutes into the game and I was already feeling exhausted, so I ran up to the coach and requested some glucose and water, hoping I would feel better and regain the lost energy! And like I guessed, whoop, my energy was boosted and I ran even faster from the left wing of the pitch.

But then, the trick didn't work for long. I began to feel some sensations beneath the curves of my left breast, which I simply ignored because it was minute, "I've felt your type before" I said quietly to myself. No one noticed, I felt the internal pain solely and acted like all was well, that too didn't stand the test of time.

As I put up a very quick run across the left flank for a counter attack around the 42nd minute of the game, it shocked me how I rolled off the pitch and on to the side line of the cheering spectators...

Tried to open my eyes and all I could see were blurry flashes of images I couldn't recognise and heard echoing sounds of voices all around. My friends were most alarmed because they compelled me to come along against my mother's command. They were terrified and pleading that I don't give up...They were scared, what will they say to mom?

The next time I opened my eyes was in the emergency ward of the State House Clinic Abuja, weak and loose as I was, I barely could recognize everyone in the ward.
My arms had been covered with syringes that passed about 4 different types of drips into my system...

Mom's eyes were filled with tears and dad was just sitting behind her, lamenting and wishing this whole thing would be just be a dream!
They had already been told about the cause of my sudden fall; shortage of blood in my system...

Dad, being a man, didn't allow his emotions show but mom couldn't hold back the hurt and pain. She poured them out and I felt even a deeper sense of remorse and empathy, I began to cry as well.

I lost the appetite for any kind of food, my temperature was rising too fast but my blood pressure too low, my heartbeat sounding quickly and louder, it was like it (my heart) was already yearning for more blood itself...I began to feel some pains from my heart, it was becoming sharp but I couldn't shout!

Doctors came and after a few minutes of examination, prescribes some b-complex, multi-vite and vitamin C syrups, which was administered to me and within a short while, I felt some relief, but Mr. Chidi, the lead doctor told my dad before leaving the ward to start preparing because the transfusion would be done first thing the next day being 30th of October, my birthday!

That news made me cry, I felt so worried, I began to feel the more sick because I couldn't stand the sight of being refilled, I cried! Mom cried even more! I was scared and worried!

It so happened that dad and I have compatible blood groups and hence he would be the donor. As we prepared against "tomorrow," mom said a few words to me, I won't forget them in a hurry...

She said,

Seth my boy,
I know it's a hard time for you right now,
I am scared as much as you are,
I never liked for you to pass through this pain,
I'm sorry, I really am,
Even though the doctors said you need a transfusion,
I believe God can do the impossible.

She said it quietly because she didn't want to disturb but I heard every bit of it clearly...As I write the piece today (5th February, 2018), I reminded mom about that day and what she said smiling was "Hallelujah, we serve a great God!"

By now, you probably have gotten a glimpse of what happened that night...

That night, I saw my dad go down to his kneels and for the first time in my fifteen years of living (2010), saw a tear roll down his right cheek. Didn't hear the words he said but I believe he was praying! I slept off and can't say what happened afterwards!

The next morning, all three doctors came in, fully "dressed up" and ready for the operation. They examined my dad and saw that he was good-to-go and it was my turn...I noticed the suprise in the eyes of the doctor who examined me as he paused to recheck as though he's in doubt of what he had just seen. Indeed, he was in doubt!

He asked the other doctors to examine me and their expressions were the same, surprised! They said, my blood pressure had recouped, and every of my system's functionality brought back to normal! Then I became surprised too... This indeed, is a Miracle, Mr. Chidi exclaimed!


So, I got thinking today, should I keep holding the 30th of October, 2010 as my darkest birthday ever or should it from henceforth enter my archive of glorious days!?


Tell me what you think!

Thank you for reading through my story...it's my entry for the Supernatural Writing contest created by @jerrybanfield and promoted by @gmichelbkk
MY topic is MIRACULOUS RECOVERIES.

o7cn474dngisgx2qq3fe.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @tomset! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much.

Thank you for writing this story and submitting it to SWC. Recovery stories are amazing! I just sent a bid to a bot for your upvote.

Wow, thank you very much @gmichelbkk for this one. I'm greatly obliged!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14