Swallowing My Own Pride

in #javascript6 years ago


Some of you might know from my previous posts that I'm running the EOS testnet on a cloud instance. I'm trying to gain a better understanding of the environment so I can put together some good videos that will be helpful. There are only a couple of guys putting out any videos doing any coding on the EOS testnet so I want to add to that. Also when the mainnet launches you can bet I'm going to be trying to snag up user names. The usernames can only be 12 characters or less so I'm going to go after specific words like buying up domain names. I'm sure there will be others doing the same thing as well when the mainnet launches on June 2nd. In the midst of all the EOS stuff I got side tracked by STEEM. A couple of days ago Steemit INC posted this blog post which had some javascript tutorials

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/devportal-update-3-ux-improvements-more-javascript-tutorials-and-more

I ended up looking at them and while in some ways I don't feel they were effective tutorials really the fact still remained that my foundation had crumbled as far as javascript is concerned.

I had been a little out of the loop doing a ton with javascript in the past couple of years so I didn't realize how much it had changed and the fact that it is so much more robust now. It was very upsetting to realize that half of what I was looking at I didn't understand. Then trying to gain my barrings it really made me feel stupid in a way. I have felt like that many times when you have no real foundation to build off of. You are just totally lost. It has happened to me in Calculus, Statistics, and programming courses in college and then it has happened many times after as well. I absolutely hate that feeling.

It's Not Supposed To Be Easy

If you guys are feeling the same way about something like programming don't feel bad because in the end if it was easy then everyone would do it. So it is going to be hard for everyone. Overtime you can become more accustom to it but what I have realized is that there are people who really like to program and there are people who don't. I was never a person who liked to do crossword puzzles for fun or any of that.

Swallowing My Pride

The resume that I don't actually use has javascript listed on it but to be honest seeing what I saw the last couple of days I can't even say I have a strong understanding of it anymore since so much changed.

At this point to get up to speed to where I could do anything useful with it again I would need to do some online courses and go through a lot of tutorials.

Then I became frustrated and asked myself if it even is worth my time to really dive in that hard and try to get up to speed. Ultimately I don't even know what my end goal is with getting up to speed. I guess in some ways I want to be able to understand it so I don't feel old and stupid. One of the reasons I keep dunking is because when I can't dunk anymore I will probably feel old. If I can't understand technical things I will feel old as well.

Has anyone else felt stupid when trying to understand crypto, programming, or anything else technical?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

I remember trying to mine steem when it was released and the whole process was way different than typical mining on linux. I spent hours on it but finally said screw it because I had other things to attend to. Compiling a typical miner takes a few minutes on linux depending on your cpu, but steem mining was a whole a big convoluted mess. Joining Steemit when the price was .08 turned out to be a better solution in the long run.

Trying to mine STEEM was a big waste of time. I tried it back in 2016 as well and didn't get anything. Someone had a GPU miner and cleaned house. I remember their miners were called like rabbit1, rabbit2....etc and every slot pretty much was taken up by one of the rabbits.

You lost me from the gitgo lol I guess Iam old :)

Honestly, I admire you Brian for wanting to learn stuff like that to be up toi speed. But being middle aged for me at least Life is too precious to learn new stuff like that. I want to concentrate on things that Iam really passionate about in Life.

It would take me months maybe even years to learn all that Programming and Coding. And if God willing I make it to 80 that's Time I will look back on and wish I had spent it more with Fam and stuff

Yeah now that you have a family trying to program at this point probably wouldn't be a wise use of time.
For me it could be a good mental exercise to rebuilt my foundation.

Understand crypto often is more easy than understanding programming imo.

In general I feel that way as well unless it gets down to the actual cryptography. Now that gets confusing.

I think you need to get in touch with friends that really love to program and such so you won't lose your interest in programming. I would like to learn how to as well but quite late now because of my disposition.

I lost contact with a lot of friends that programmed for the most part. It was a lot easier back in college to be around people like that. There is one guy I know who programs but unfortunately he has a lot of issues.

Cryoto is super varied and depend on where it s grown. It's more diffucult than (green) farming, but just as satisfying.Just make sure you are near a sorce electricity , water and courage.

wow well post in javascript programming language i like it keep it up

good post ..
i am new in steemit i want to know more about steemit please support me @elsacantik

@brianphobos I think EOS will be a Fantastic Platform and I think the Tokens will do very well. The One thing I am Really Sick of is Bix Weir on like everyone of his videos on YouTube lately he just Bashes EOS and says Brock Pierce is a pretty sketchy character..........Do You have any thoughts about this Brian ???

I had never heard of Bix Weir until you mentioned him and I looked at one of his videos. The thing is a lot of people that don't really know anything about BitShares or STEEM can't really fully understand how the Delegated Proof of Stake system works and what these platforms are capable of.

Not saying Bix Weir is but I have seen a lot of Ethereum Fan boys act like EOS is just some knock off of Ethereum which is kind of funny and how we don't need it because we already have Ethereum. Honestly I think Ethereum was a somewhat important step and it will still be around but as long as Coinbase and other major exchanges add EOS when the mainnet is live it will likely become a backbone of crypto and then everyone is going to want to develop on it because of its capabilities and cost effectiveness. It is just way to expensive to develop on Ethereum and after 4 years we have a couple Decentralized Applications that don't amount to much in respect to real world use cases. CryptoKitties is cute little example but it is like coding "Hello World" in a programming language. It isn't really solving any real problem.

The STEEM ecosystem solves a real world issue and EOS is going to do the same 10X over.

As far as Brock Pierce none of us can really say if he himself did anything shady. He evidently had a business partner who turned out to be sketch and Brock got named in a civil lawsuit which that in itself doesn't mean a lot because I even had a lawyer tell me that sometimes he adds people to a lawsuit just to get their attention and set up a deposition to collect evidence and then drops them from the lawsuit.

The whole premise pisses me off because the mental anguish you would go through being sued is enough to kill a person.

@brianphobos Thank You for taking the Time to answer my question. I felt that this was a Great Place to ask this kind of question because people need to see a well thought out answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75