Technical: Using SteemJ with Eclipse (not)

in #java6 years ago


java-logo.jpg

I've taken a break from writing the back-end of my program to try to access the Steem blockchain. I was a bit disappointed that Steem doesn't have an official Java API. They only seem to have JavaScript and Python. I really wanted to use Python for my first Steem program, but I also want to be able to turn my programs into mobile Android apps. Seeing as Java is the official language of Android, this seems to be the smartest way to go, but how will I interact with the Steem blockchain?


steemj.jpg

Thank you @dez1337 for creating an unofficial Java wrapper for Steem. Now if I can only figure out how to install it lol. In programming sometimes it's hard to accomplish even the simplest of tasks. In this case I my PATH was not working.


maven.png

In order to install SteemJ one needs to have correctly installed Java and Maven. You know it's working when the PATH has been set and you can access Java and Maven from any folder. To open a command prompt, enter "cmd" in the windows search bar.


cmd.jpg

You know the PATH is correct when you can type the command "java" or "mvn" anywhere and it works.


cmd2.png

For some reason my Maven PATH was not working and I had to troubleshoot.

path.png

path2.png

This wasn't working so I found a solution at stackoverflow:

set PATH=path_to_maven/bin;%PATH%

Shortly after it just magically started working... UG! And that's just Maven, a program I've never used. Now I need to install SteemJ with Maven.

The project requires Maven and Java to be installed on your machine. It can be build with the default maven command:
mvn clean package

Which clearly assumes one knows how to use Maven, which I don't. That command gives an error because I need a file called pom.xml and I have to run "mvn clean package" in the folder that it's in. So I made an XML file in from Notepad:

xml file.png

copy/pasted the pom.xml file

maven xml file.png

And tried again

mvn clean package.png

Another miserable failure, as expected. Now I have to go to the Maven website and try to figure out what the hell I'm doing.

pom requirements.png

So now I make a new pom.xml file

new pom xml.png

And try again

mvn clean package win.png

Holy shit it "worked". That "JAR will be empty" warning doesn't look great but whatever! Now what? ... Ok so it turns out that because I use the Eclipse Neon IDE to write my Java code I can just do this:

convert to maven.png

Time to find out if I've been wasting my time... yep totally wasted all the time.... ever... more to come

Sort:  

Auto-Generated Comment Using SteemJ . Upvoted with steemj.vote().

Auto-Generated Comment Using SteemJ . Upvoted with steemj.vote().
steemJ.createComment(new AccountName('edicted'),
new Permlink('technical-using-steemj-with-eclipse-not'),
insert comment String here,
new String[] { 'test' });

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Edicted from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87