The Shopping Arcade In Japan

in #japan7 years ago

They're indoor, but their outdoor! These shopping arcades are the perfect areas to shop. Usually they are a street next to a train station that has been covered to protect from the weather. Alothugh I have seen and been to arcades that were open to the sky too.

They remind me of something I would see in Europe, but not the US. Japan is a very old country though, so perhaps I should say they remind me of something I would see in Japan or Europe, but not the US. Have you been to an arcade in Japan or Europe?

Follow us for pictures from Japan!

All photos we use are our own, taken by us.

Sort:  

Yes, I went to one quite similar to this when I ventured to Asakusa while in Tokyo. They are very cool to just walk around, scope out different areas/shops and also people watch, as they are usually mobbed up and down the aisles. Very cool post, bringing back vibrant memories of my trip Japan this past summer... can't wait to venture back!!

They really help when the weather is bad too. I love them because California doesn't have them and each one is unique. Be sure to let us know when you will be in town!

For sure!! I will be sure to let you know... I have always wanted to do a steemit meet up and I know I will definitely be coming back to the beautiful country of Japan :-)

one of my favourite chill areas - shotengai! I haven't been to one street which I didnt enjoy

I totally agree. There is always some shop or restaurant inside of them worth going to. I use to go to one in Kawasaki-shi because there was a sushi shop I liked. Let us know when you will be back in Japan. Cheers.

Great post.keep it up.hope all people like on this.go ahead

You got a 9.41% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @japaninpictures!

This kind of shopping arcade id very traditional in Japan. But years after years they disappear (maybe it's more expensive to repair than normal shopping streets).
But it's so useful, especially when it's raining outside, or very cold.
In Kyoto there is a big shopping arcade at Nishiki Market, or Teramachi and Shinkyogoku.
teramachi-dori.jpg

That is a much nicer one, modern. I imagine they are very expensive to maintain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48