Eye on the prize

in #investing5 years ago

I invest in various places and quite often watch my investments. I suppose many do the same and certainly in a rocky market it can pay to do so. I have investments that don't fluctuate very much, long term ones like property, and others which can swing this way or that on a day to day basis; Crypto and metals for instance.

Recently the Australian stock market got slammed; It's taken me several days to pluck up the courage to take a look at my superannuation fund to see the damage incurred however I did so today and was...Well I guess dismayed is as good a word to use as any. It's lost me some money and I'm not pleased.

I wrote a post a short while ago about researching investments and the importance of research. In it I mentioned diversification, a word that was echoed in various ways in comments upon that post and in posts by other users like @organduo and @newageinv plus many others as well. Diversification helps to mitigate risk.

Here you can see the way my superannuation fund is diversified between cash, bonds, Australian and international equities, property, infrastructure, defensive alternatives and growth alternatives...Sounds legit right? I hope it is...Because I don't hold any sway over any of them. I put my money into the fund and trust that someone knows what they're doing and that it grows commensurate with my needs moving forward. Sure, I can select a risk-level but I don't really know where my money is and whilst much of it is growth-money, much of it is made up of my hard-earned cash which I've injected.

Eye on the prize
Not knowing where my money is, exactly where my money is, makes me feel nervous. However, as part of my strategy, I throw some of it to my super-fund and hope for the best.

In contrast, I know where my precious metals are - In the pirate treasure chest in the spot marked X, and I can go and look at it, and I do. It's comforting. I also know where my property investments are and can look at them too. Sort of the same with crypto really I suppose right? I can cash it all out - see it.

What I can't physically see is my end-goal. I mean, I'm not there yet and so it's obscured from my physical sight. My minds-eye sees it well-enough though. What does it look like?

Well, it looks like the ability not to have to work, the ability to engage more with my hobbies, to travel more, to share more time with my wife and family. It looks like days spent with books and coffee, learning new things and understanding the old (I love history). It looks like camping in the wilderness learning new skills, throwing time into handing down the skills I have to those who want to learn and develop. It means writing more, a project-write maybe, volunteering, giving back... That's what the end goal looks like and what I aim my investments at. In truth, it's not really an end-goal, it's pretty much just life with financial independence I suppose. I think the 'prize' is not so much the investment, but what the investment will do for a person. Don't get me wrong, I do all of those things above now, but in between the whole working for the man thing and not in the quantities I wish to. Investment in the past helps feed and fund my lifestyle now and will do so into the future.

So my investments are diversified. If one falls backward maybe another moves forward, if one takes a hit maybe another remains stable.

I totally endorse keeping an eye on ones' investments, totally! However I also believe one needs to keep an eye fixed on the WHY of it all. The ultimate goal of investing in the first place. We all do it for various reasons...Some to place themselves in a position to buy something: A house, business, vehicle, holiday...Other's to build a legacy or foundation for family, some for charity I suppose too. No matter the reason, keeping the eye on the prize, the reasons for taking the ownership and responsibility for investing in the first place, is just as critical as watching investments.

I'd be interested in hearing of other people's WHY's, the reasons for investment and if they are similar or different to my own. Feel free to share.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

I rebalanced my super just the other day. I've got plenty of mistakes still to make - well before that "retirement".

Posted using Partiko Android

Plenty of time for young blokes like you. Old fuckers like me...Not so much time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mandatory super is just another tax. Its gone. Don't know why I'd taunt myself by looking at the statements. Sure it'll be half a million dollars by the time I retire, but at the rate they're printing dollars; that'll buy me a coke and a mars bar.
I tried real hard to drop 50K into bitcoin at $50; but I wasn't considered qualified to invest my own money toward my own retirement, so wasn't permitted. Ausgov owes me 1000 BTC.
A coke and a mars bar will have to do instead.

Well, Menz are bringing back the Pollywaffle so maybe forego the Mars Bar and shoot for that instead, just for something different.

Posted using Partiko Android

Shoot for the stars is a good policy. Even if you don't acheive it and only hit the moon it's a great start.

Posted using Partiko Android

Have you read ‘The barefoot investor’? Interestingly it says to not watch your investments...perhaps that was only referring to super.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't no, however I'm sure there's many different strategies. Someone playing on the stock market would want to watch it very closely I'd imagine. Watching super is a fairly fruitless activity however there's times a quick look can be advantageous.

Posted using Partiko Android

What about someone playing on Steem ☺️?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Depends how depressed they want to make themselves.

Posted using Partiko Android

😬🇦🇺

Posted using Partiko iOS

I imagine that a lot of people are in a similar situation where they're starting to feel the pain of losses. I have a feeling that it's only the start of something that's going to get much worse. At least you have that physical insurance in case something goes really wrong. That's more than most people have.

I agree, there's a few here at my office for sure. My super fund is not something I stress over to be honest as I won't need it for some years to come. I keep an eye on it a couple times a year though. I'm planning around not needing it to be honest, meaning that my other investments should work well enough to support my life. It's a good nest egg to have though.

Posted using Partiko Android

My reasons for investing are similar to yours in that I want to not have to work someday. After I retire I don't want to go get another job to pay the bills.

Yep, makes sense. Pays to plan ahead whilst still living life in the now. A balance is best I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks solid! My why is really to set myself up to do something for myself in the future. I no longer want to work for money as money should work for me which is why I invest and diversify. I have been moving more into cash as I even pay down debt just to prepare for a potential reset in financial markets. If not, opportunity costs but at least I should still have my main source of income to catch me up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good plan.

I like how you’re reducing debt; We spoke about this before. Reducing credit debt (incurring interest) is investment in itself. No point throwing money into investment gaining a 6% ROI but being weighed down by credit card debt at 20% interest for example.

I still believe there’s some financial pain to come and having few debts (or none) will be advantageous. People forget that banks can call in debt at any time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.590 which ranks you at #1912 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 64.48% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 1.5 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97