Over 40 and getting nervous about retirement planning?

in #investing5 years ago

I meet many people who hit 40 and notice they haven't done anything in terms of retirement planning yet.

They always put it off, because retirement was so far away. Until now.

Most people don't care, until...

I guess there's something about the number 40; this birthday makes people feel like they're running out of time to start doing something.

It's true. The earlier you start, the more you can accumulate over time.

But most people in their twenties don't care - they're just starting their career, they don't want to think about the end of it.

People in their thirties don't really have time to think about it, because most of them are so busy switching the careers they started in their twenties and figuring out what they want to do for the rest of their lives.

And then they hit forty, got their yoga teacher certificate, and notice, "Hm... I'm not quite done with my search for my purpose yet, but I really really should start saving for my retirement. But what to do? I have no clue about finances and I don't know who to trust for advise..."

(I know I know. Huuuuge generalisation. Still. Some of you may recognise this... :))

What to do??

Given the strange financial times we're in right now, it's super important that you educate yourself on EXACTLY WHAT to put your money in.

Yes, that will take some of your time. But the investment of time for education will more than make up for the potential losses of your actual money, if you blindly invest it in the stock market now, just because someone in a suit said so and made you sign a pamphlet.

PLEASE be careful. In this video I try to create a little more clarity on all of this - this is all just my opinion and no financial advise of course.

If you feel it's useful, I would love a thumbs up on Youtube, so their algorithm notices my videos a bit more :)

Sort:  

Das schlimme sit ja - die neue junge Generation versteht NICHT was z.B. in Deutschland Rente bedeutet - früher war es Rente um Lebensstandard zu halten, jetzt um Armut zu verhindern, den Unterscheid kapieren die jungen nicht oder ignorieren - das wird heiss später - ich bin mir bewusst, dass die Rente nix bringt oder wenig, daher musst du vorsorgen - schöner Post!

You got a 42.95% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77