Introducing Robin and Bob to the Steemit Community

in #beer6 years ago


Hello, we have been a member of the community since Sunday 5/6/18. Over the weekend my son, ryan313, and his family came to our farm in Upstate New York for the weekend. He got me all hooked up with Steemit. I have been thinking about what it is that I can bring to the community. Well here we go.
To begin with a little backround may be a good place to start. Both my wife and myself have recently retired. Robin was a Xray Technician for 35 years and I retired from teaching. I taught special education for 37 years and loved every minute of it. I worked with emotionally handicapped students, what a challenge. The daily rewards of working with these young people will be with me the rest of my life. Besides teaching, I love working with wood, building speciality furniture and other unique pieces. We have four children and six grandchildren, our latest being my son Derrick's first child, a beautiful little girl named Payton.
My wife Robin likes to say that we live off of the grid and to some extent we do as we live on a dirt road in a town called McDonough, population 535. We have owned this property since 1978 and I build the home we are living in in 1985. It is here that we have built so many memories, and it is here where many of our passions have been nurtured.
For those community members who love the outdoors and just old clean living, I hope you find my blogs interesting and maybe somewhat informative.
Just to give you a preview of what you may find on our future blogs, we will give you a little taste of the content.

MAKING MAPLE SYRUP AND COLLECTING SAP

GROWING VENEER GRADE TIMBER INCLUDING BLACK WALNUT, FIGURED POPLAR, AND CHERRY


GROWING HOPS AND BEER MAKING

ORGANIC GARDENING

BACK SAVING RAISED BEDS

BLUEBERRIES GALORE

BLUEBERRIES READY TO STORE


FURNITURE BUILDING


MILLING LUMBER


HARVESTING AND PRESERVING ORGANIC VEGGIES

We hope you find some of this content interesting. Future posts will explain and demonstrate the subject matter found above in greater detail. Have a great day and stay tuned as we bring you projects from the farm.
Thanks again thebigsweed

Sort:  

Awesome great job !! Pictures look amazing! What a way to leave a trail of your retirement on the block chain for the future! CHEERS 👩‍🌾 FARMERS

image.jpg

You made me smile ALOT!! Keep me in the daily loop with more pictures please! Also put @ryan313 so it creates a hyper link!! UPVOTED & Resteemed!!

good smile @ryan313

image.jpg good morning pop

you did amazing work @thebigsweed

Thanks for the compliment. 1st post, had a ball. If you like gardening and have every had a problem with deer browsing on your plants check out next post with sure fire way to resolve the problem.

you are welcome :)
yes, i like gardening @thebigsweed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67