Introducing @Grow-pro's Design Service Whitelist • WHAT is it? WHY it exists?

in #introduction6 years ago (edited)

steem-whitelists-cover-design-cover-custom.png

Freelance is Business & Business is Trust

Trust is the single most important element in business and relationships. It is established over periods of time, not something that should be automatically assumed when you have your livelihood at stake. Unfortunately, anyone who has been in the freelance design field has likely been 'hosed' for their time. I know in my 7 years of freelance design work that I have been crushed a few times. Often wondering what I was doing wrong and then it occurred to me; I had forgotten the single most important element.

When I started freelance work, I failed in ways that I would've never imagined. As an artist gets better, that fear of failure shrinks away. Many of the great artists I know do not fear failure. We are tuned to a frequency of creation and we place ourselves in an open state - open and susceptible​. We're vulnerable.

Failure is part of the process

I knew that failure is part of the process when I set out on my own. I had no clue what I was doing, only that I had an insatiable desire to do it. I failed in many ways, but I began to observe my failures closely. My biggest failures were the focus. I began to look for what factors were present in each of these failures, to see if there were any recurring​ factors. Then it really started to become clear. All of my most costly failures had one thing in common: I worked for those who I had assumed trust with - not verified trust with. Well, what happens when we assume? In my experiences, this has been devastating. It was just a handful of people that nearly destroyed my life. All because I allowed them to do it.

Don't Rush! Trust Takes Time & Time Is Money

It is something I cannot stress enough: TRUST WHO YOU WORK WITH. If you cannot affirm that you trust the people you work with - do not work with them. It is a dangerous scenario to place yourself into. Without trust, you cannot confirm your time is being utilized with what truly aligns with your best interests AND whom you are working with. As a design freelancer, that's my job; it is to put the best interest of my client first. Where I made a terrible mistake was working for those who did not reciprocate that level of respect and loyalty.

A little consideration goes a long way

When I work for a company, I won't take work from a competitor even if it pays more. That little extra money is nothing compared to loyalty and trust. The time and effort put forth in order to establish a REAL trust is priceless and no immediate gain can surpass the value of long-term trust. @Jackmiller wrote a beautifully​ detailed piece called, Loyalty In Business = Integrity! Partners or Employees? which offers further support to what I am expressing.

To me personally loyalty to one another in business is the one and only key factor that assures a sound foundation to doing business. @jackmiller

TRUTH10


{truth to the tenth power!}

Trust and Loyalty

I trust those who I have worked with and come to know as 'someone of their word'. Meaning: they do what they say the will do.

Actions speak louder than words

Loyalty is a ​consideration to me. When you consider me for a project, whether or not we end up working together or not, I recognize that consideration. I recognize it because​ I recognize actions. Someone who has worked with me in the past and inquires for services on another future project - that is a ​consideration. That is loyalty. I reward that sort of consideration and generally find it easier to trust those types of people. Even coffee shops reward loyal customers. It is what will at some point determine whether you retain or lose a customer for many businesses; loyalty & trust.

I have worked with some of my 'whitelisted' members for 5 years or more. That is loyalty and certainly deserving of reward • big shout out to @finnian for being my LONGEST standing whitelist member on Steemit!! Aside from being a great friend, Finnian is one of the most honest & trustworthy individuals that I've had the privilege to work with.

That is something I hope everyone can appreciate. Working with people that you value and trust will always produce greater results.

I'm a full-time stay at home father of two children (2 & 4), husband, local business / small-scale farmer, design freelancer & business consultant and steemit in my "in between all that" time. So needless to say, I'm a busy dude! I value my time with my family and that is why I paused my career and reinvented my life to work around raising two children and keeping a happy wife (happy wife = happy life). Family comes first, then business.

HOW TO GET ON

• Hire me. That requires a basic level of trust for the both of us.

• Work with me and have a successful project. That is the foundation that we will build upon.

• As we get to know each other better, I get better at learning your style, likes, dislikes, expectations, etc. Streamlining our process a little at a time. Over time this becomes more efficient = costing me less time and you less money.

• Once you know me better, you are able to request larger projects. Again, I do not even consider large projects from sources that I have not yet established some form of trust with, especially in a ​circumstance where I am asked to provide work before payment.

• I offer new designs and bonus incentives to my whitelisted users, they are first to get services before I make them available to the public and some that are exclusive to​ whitelist members only.

DISCOUNTS


I offer discounted rates for my most trusted clients and my fellow @steemfreelancers guild members only. I do not entertain negotiations of price with those who I have not established trust with and simply because I do not have the time or energy to risk. I have done it many times in the past and have unequivocal data to prove it ends badly more times than not. That is straightforward and honest. I have trusted clients willing to pay me more than I ask them for; that says it all. It's the reason the "Whitelist" was born.

Like my work? Need Some Aesthetic Assistance on your Steemit Posts?

🔻☟⬇︎FIND ME IS THE #SFG DISCORD⬇︎☟🔻


CONTACT ME BELOW or ON DISCORD / grow-pro#2163

⇪☝︎⇧click to see more from @grow-pro⇧☝︎⇪

Sort:  

Thanks, brother. We have worked together for years. This is, as you already know, one of the main ideas behind Liberty Professionals. When you work and barter with people who have the same life long objectives, the trust issues pretty much go away. My friends are in the same battle with me, fighting around me, and they are rallied to the same banners.

That makes doing business with them much much easier. It also makes synergy and shared creation with them much easier. Everyone benefits when they surround themselves in life with their friends. I do not trust people easily either, for I too have been burned numerous times. Once I realized what I was doing incorrectly though, I changed my ways. I no longer trust those who are not already my friends.

You have to guard against the long con too sadly. I've had people lie about their beliefs and play the part of a liberty lover for years before I finally started to see cracks in them. Given enough time, inconsistencies will begin to show. The more emotionally involved you are though, the harder it is to see the clues even when they are right in front of your face.

The beauty of PI work is that you get paid in advance like lawyers. I had an IT business in the past as you know, and I would get ripped off over and over. Taking so many people to court just wasn't worth it either. The whole process drained the life out of me. Now I don't have to worry about such things. Either you pay me up front, or I don't do any work. Easy, right? Steemit can and should be the same way.

People should get paid before they work. That is the safest way. The only exception, in my not so humble opinion, is as you have stated above. I'll trust my friends. My friends are consistent, and they are in the fight to further individual liberty and voluntaryism. Those people I would work for free for as my time allowed!

We really need to work on that cloning idea.... Better yet, let's keep working on passive income streams. Then we can sit on a warm beach somewhere and sip a favorite drink while our money works for us and we work for our friends as our time outside our family's allows.

Here is one that I keep telling my kids:

"A person expresses themself with words, but proves themself with actions"

I used to say "A man expresses..." when we had only one child, so my eldest son was pounded with these words of old school wisdom from his old man, now I say "A PERSON" because this old school bugger has daughters too and has learned a thing or two about expressing himself with gender equality!

Although, no matter how I say it, it still means the same thing and applies to every one of us!

Seeing as you quoted me, thought I would add a bit to it with an additional quote that I use to try and bring my kids up in the "old school" fashion of respect and good morals.

Keep it man! I love everything you stand behind! 2018 is just getting warmed up for you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by grow-pro from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 9 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.77% vote... I was summoned by @grow-pro! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 1.22% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @grow-pro!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14