WOTW Travel #1: Travel With Me! 193 UN Nations in 60 Months

Desktop WOTW Launch.png

Hello Steemit Friends!

If you’re reading this I’m almost certain by now you’re wondering a couple things:

  1. Who is travelling to 193 UN Nations in 60 months??
    And.
  2. What the heck is ‘WOTW Travel’??

I guess before I jump into things, I should answer the first question and go ahead by introducing myself.

17902480_10212209336885926_1827962896_o copy.jpg

My name is Devon Steeves! I’m a 21 yr old globetrotting gypsy from Vancouver, Canada. I love travelling, fashion/beauty, sloths, people who make me laugh, positive vibes, helping those in need and food… definitely love food! Aside from the basics there is one thing you should know about me, and in retrospect it might help you to understand all posts following this one.

In 2013 I officially caught the travel bug… Tragic, I know.

I had barely turned 18 when I decided to venture away from home on a trip to Mexico for my first ever vacation out of Canada. Truth be told I had one too many tequila shots and a lifetime of tacos but I’ve been hooked on travel ever since! Some might say I’m even a bit of a culture shock addict.

Over the past 5 years of travelling I’ve made endless friends and memories that I’ll never forget. My eyes have feasted on culture while my lips have tasted some of the strangest and most wonderful foods. I’ve grown and helped others to grow.

I have to admit, my restless feet have led me to some pretty f*cking remarkable places!

I’ve had the opportunity to explore my diverse home country, walk the cobblestone streets of Europe, journey through the rich lands of SE Asia and even feel the sand squish between my toes in South America. I’ve slept in airports more times than I can count, brushed my teeth on the side of dirt roads, squatted in holes to pee and watched the sun rise and fall in 18 different countries since my first trip abroad.

budapest.jpg
Christmas in Budapest, Hungary

IMG_4986.jpg
Life Before Work Trip: Island Life 2017 San Blas Islands, Panama

13315649_10209233846540527_2036376013188051588_n (1).jpg
Canoeing in Canada! Banff, Alberta

IMG_3367.JPG
Snorkeling in Cambodia.

In 2015, against my parents advice I decided to drop out of college. Like 80% of students in North America, I was feeling lost and unsure of my direction. I just knew I hated sitting still.

And then... I met Michael! We instantly connected and became inseparable. But that’s a story for another post.

17757261_10212191280594530_5490543457656395786_n.jpg
Exploring the Panama Canal with Mikey.

At this time Mike had just come home from Asia and was planning his next trip to visit every country in Europe. Only 4 short months after we met he was due to take off with his partner and film crew; Global Degree, to continue their journey to every nation in the world. Europe was a 45 country trip planned to take 8 months and brought his country count to 83/193 UN Nations.

As his departure date neared he knew I desperately needed an adventure of my own and booked me a one way flight to Bangkok. He said “JUST GO! You have 3 months to save and you’re flying into Thailand. Don’t plan to much and just let what happens, happen.”

I was scared shitless.

But regardless I quit my job, sold all my things and left on a solo 8 month trip through Thailand, Cambodia & various parts of Europe. It was one hell of a ride and the trip single handedly changed the rest of my life. Since returning to Canada in January of this year a hunger had been yearning inside of me. I was barely home and already craving my next escapade!

My mind was fired up. I was on the brink of something great I just had no idea what it was yet...

“The world is my classroom and I learned more in the past 8 months than I ever could have sitting in a study hall.”

“I want to travel for a living while doing all the things I love and accomplishing all the goals I have, but how?!”

“Is there a way to travel with Michael? Being apart for 6-12 months is hard.”

Then it hit me. Like a ton of bricks.

Thus, this brings me to our second question and ultimately what you can expect the future of this blog to be.

W Globe High Resolution File.jpg

WOTW Travel is the shortened version for ‘Women of the World’.

I, Devon Steeves am attempting to be the youngest woman and first Canadian female to visit EVERY NATION IN THE WORLD!

193 UN Nations in 60 Months.

HOLY SH*T.

With guidance from Mikey and help from my partner Tia Scott and professional videographer/photographer Danny McGee, my team and I will be documenting the entire trip online through our channel 'Women of the World'. Constant content will be featured on our Facebook (WOTW Travel) , Instagram (@wotwtravel) , Youtube (Women of the World) and here for all of you on Steemit.

This is the first post of many to come! And our hope is to create a community of awesome humans from around the world! People like you :)

We are launching the project in the Caribbean and will visit all 16 UN Nations starting Nov. 1, 2017 - February 15, 2018.

Our Itinerary:
Nov. 1 DEPART! Vancouver to Kingstown, St. Vincent & Grenadines
Nov. 2 - 7 Kingstown, St. Vincent & Grenadines
Nov. 8 TRAVEL DAY! Kingstown to Castries, St. Lucia
Nov. 9 - 12 Castries, St. Lucia
Nov. 13 TRAVEL DAY! Castries to Bridgetown, Barbados
Nov. 14 - 20 Bridgetown, Barbados
Nov 21. TRAVEL DAY! Bridgetown to St. George’s, Grenada
Nov 21 - 28 St. George’s, Grenada
Nov. 29 TRAVEL DAY! St. George’s to Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
Nov. 30 - Dec. 9 Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
Dec. 10 TRAVEL DAY! Port of Spain to Georgetown, Guyana
Dec. 11 - 17 Georgetown, Guyana
Dec. 18 TRAVEL DAY! Georgetown to Paramaribo, Suriname
Dec. 19 - 21 Paramaribo, Suriname
Dec. 22 TRAVEL DAY! Paramaribo to Roseau, Dominica
Dec. 23 - 26 Roseau, Dominica
Dec. 27 TRAVEL DAY! Roseau to St. John’s, Antigua & Barbuda
Dec. 28 - Jan. 1 St. John’s, Antigua & Barbuda
Jan. 2 TRAVEL DAY! St. John’s to Fortlands, St. Kitts & Nevis
Jan. 3 - 6 Fortlands, St. Kitts & Nevis ( Day Trip to Basseterre)
Jan. 7 TRAVEL DAY! Fortlands to San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan. 8 - 13 San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan. 14 TRAVEL DAY! San Juan to Santo Domingo, Dominican
Republic
Jan. 15 - 20 Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Jan. 21 TRAVEL DAY! Santo Domingo to Port - au - Prince, Haiti
Jan. 22 - 25 Port - au - Prince
Jan. 26 TRAVEL DAY! Port - au - Prince to Boscobel Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Jan. 27 - 29 Boscobel Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Jan. 29 - 31 Montego Bay, Jamaica
Feb. 1 TRAVEL DAY! Montego Bay to Varadero, Cuba
Feb. 2 - 3 Varadero, Cuba
Feb. 4 - 5 Trinidad, Cuba
Feb. 6 - 7 Havana, Cuba
Feb. 8 TRAVEL DAY! Havana to Nassau, Bahamas
Feb. 9 - 15 Nassau, Bahamas
Feb. 16 TRAVEL DAY! CARIBBEAN FINISHED :

I have started this Steemit account as my main blog for writing and will be posting as much and as often as possible. Topics will vary from fashion/ beauty, food, travel, nomad tips, personal stories & lessons, philanthropy, relationships, and so much more helping keep you all up to date with where we are and what we have been up too. Feel free to comment or message me any topics you wish to read about.

With my trip around the world I hope to not only inspire others but truly help make a difference. Through a combination of unwavering wanderlust, travel, fashion, inspiration, philanthropy and creative content my plan is to launch a positive movement removing stereotypes, debunking misconceptions and breaking down borders by showcasing the world’s love, unity and beauty.

Please follow along and join the adventure! Your upvotes mean the world to me and comments are always welcome. If you have any tricks & tips for me as a new user or topics you'd like me to write about please let me know.

Leading with Love,
WOTW Travel <3 xoxo

Sort:  

Hey fellow traveller! Good luck in your journey, we will be following your adventures. Next January we are going to start around the world trip too,but with a hint of extreme sports :)

O yay. I want to read about that too!

Hello, @Wotwtravel, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Don't forget to read up on "keys" & passwords.
Basically don't log in with your "master key"
Use your private posting key.

TL,DR: You should have ALREADY saved your PASSWORD that was used to generate your keys
Next go to Profile >Wallet > Permissions and copy paste all FIVE keys to a safe place.
(eg a text file on a memory stick)
The “OWNER” key is the ‘master key’, keep it VERY safe
Daily logins for posting should use your Private POSTING key.
Once you have copies saved, log out and log back in with USERNAME & your POSTING key
Hope that helps some.
$0.02

What an amazing goal! You're going to have so many adventures and see so many wonderful things. Best of luck, I'm cheering for you to do it!!

Wow! What an amazing post! I am so excited for your trip. I can't wait to read your blog. Have fun and be safe!

Congratulations @wotwtravel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63606.08
ETH 2603.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83