A Year In Retrospect |My Steemit One-Year Anniversary

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

image
How time flies! It's exactly 12 months, 365 days, 8760 hours, 525,600 minutes, 31,536,000 seconds that I joined the Steem Blockchain today. A child that was birthed a year ago would have started walking and even started schooling, this shows what a year means in the life of man. My Steemit story so far is one that is characterized with ups and downs - it has not been an easy journey. Quit, quit, says a part of me at some point. Keep moving, you can do it, the potential you've got, says another part through some forces which I don't have the power to resist their words. Three "gbosa" to @mediahousent and @matthewthonyit for the "you can do it" words of encouragement.

![image](

The journey.

I got to know about Steemit around June 2017 but I didn't join until November 2017 because I was skeptical and taking my time to study the system. Once bitten, twice shy, says a popular adage. In a bid to make ends meet due to a downtrodden and mismanaged economy we live in, I have been a victim of some schemes designed to scam its users - unknowingly. Some of these schemes were popular in Nigeria as at that time and it was welcomed by majority of Nigerians because it promises to give an increment of about 50-100% in the cash that is used to 'provide help (PH).

My friend turn brother and the official Blockchain host @mediahousent preached the gospel to me like a Pastor will do to an unbeliever. He introduced, persuaded, convinced and encouraged me to open an account. Well, he had to go through the stress because he doesn't want a brother to miss out. Awwn, how sweet! And more importantly, he knows I'm not easy to convince because I detest investing my time in unproductive and unprofitable ventures. I took it upon myself to research about Steemit and the steem Blockchain and it took me about 5 months before I finally open my steemit account.

In my early months in the world of Steemit, a groundbreaking event held in Nigeria - Steemit in Nigeria (SIN) organized by @lead360ent, @ehiboss and I was privileged to promote steem outside the Blockchain to everyone around the world that are not aware of Steemit.

image
Translating from one language to another may not be an easy task but if you are vast in the lexis and structure of the languages involved it's not going to be a big deal. One of the many contests I enjoyed was the Translation contest by @ilyastarar. As a Nigerian, I speak pidgin but I haven't had any reason to write a paragraph not to talk of over 450 words. Thanks to @ilyastarar for this. He also introduced me to an app (Canva) for creating thumbnails for posts.

Albert Szent-Gyorgyi, once said that research is to see what everybody else has seen, and to think what nobody else has thought. This is exactly the case when I came across @fulltimegeek blog post on Conspiracy, Truth and Vrill. In as much as I don't have a deep knowledge about these fields, I read about it and was able to create my own contents and got some of the fat rewards that made my year (smiles).

During the course of this one year, I was able to invite some of my friends and family to the steem Blockchain. Some have given up, some are still in the community. @matthewthonyit and @pejugold are some of the many people that have joined steemit through me that are still active till date.

image
Not to forget the just concluded Steemit in Nigeria Conference (SIN ²) 2018. The moments of this groundbreaking event would continue to linger in the mind of many, ranging from the great steemians that assembled in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, Nigeria to the educative and informative sessions and the fun social events that held. The SIN² experience is absolutely a full package. I was part of the publicity crew for this great event alongside many other handsome and beautiful steemians @ehiboss @oredebby @uche-nna @williams-owb @jeaniepearl @ttopswag @mealo @pearlumie @bollutech @japfive @mediahousent @destinysaid @mickyscofield and @camzy. Special shout out to @surfyogi @ausbitbank @demotruk @donkeypong @lukestokes for their contributions towards the success of the event.

I'd not end this post without making mention of some outstanding persons have met during the last year. This is as a result of their style of writing, creativity, generously and lots more. Some of them are @nonameslefttouse @endorphoenix @infovore @whatageek @whatsup @thejohalfiles @dimimp @theartisangroup @riverhead @roelandp @liberosist @mammasitta @ned @sneak @blocktrades @foxxycat @razvanelulmarin @anduweb @lpfaust @kevinwong @timsaid @timcliff @roadscape @cass @good-karma @sauravrungta @andrarchy, @mosunomotunde, @oredebby, @rosyblessing and lots more.

Thanks to @steemitboard
image

Thanks to everyone who made my year.
OWB says thank you.

NOTE: I used the #introduceyourself tag not because this is my first post but to give this post some visibility to encourage newbies.

Sort:  

Hola, me gustaría leer los artículos que escribas para la comunidad de Steemit.

Thanks @whatsup. My First One year is a memorable one.

Welcome to Steem williams-owb! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

That’s awesome! I remember my own first steemit birthday and when I was counting days! Keep going 🙌🙏🧡

Awwn. That's interesting to know. How old are you now 😀

I am here since June 2016

Wow! That's a nice one.
June is my birthday month tho. June 27😆

Smile, @williams-owb happy steemit birthday. Take my 🍰🍰

Posted using Partiko Android

Awwwwnnnn..it's always heart-warming to see people who know how to count their blessings. Cheers and happy anniversary in arrears!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20