I'm a 50 on Steemit and today I play Jazz.steemCreated with Sketch.

Hi neighbors!

I looked at my Steemit today to discover I am a 50!

Today:

I'll be performing Jazz bass for a combo in Santa Ana. My Monday night Big Band director asked me and my drummer friend to help him entertain the teachers and city faculty today.

It's been really busy,

so I created this play list of songs to help me stay familiar with the songs we will perform today.
This is the play list here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3Cdm_xlbcJwM0OzQi0tuEQEc-5SYTc9QIMG_7076.JPG

Today's combo will feature Vocals, Piano, Trombone, Guitar, Bass, Piano, and Drums. I'll be on bass and my buddy #steelparade will be on drums.

Thank you to everyone who upvoted and noticed my posts.
Lets make this a win win for all of us.

I'm open to advice and I like comments too.


Photo Aug 09, 3 00 54 PM.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks buddy! 😁

Congratulations @steemseph! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome @steemseph

You may like this nice Card. Use it in any way you want: It is a completly free gift for you :)
PS: Some clever Steemians print it for takeaway. The QR-Code leads directly to your blog.


Made with Love 💋

Received with gratitude!!!

Thank you verrrry much - you are a cool guy. Love your playlist!
Did you read my last Post about the HighRes-Version of that MemberCard? Maybe helpful, too…
Have a good time,
Ben.

Thanks for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed the playlist. Card looks great!

Hey! That’s me on drums. 🥁

Thanks for the lists of songs, I like the songs you listen to :)

Your welcome and thanks to you too. I like to set it on play all and simmer. I fell asleep to it last night.

lol, he's silly, make me laugh lots :)

nice post.
upvoted you.
you are invited to my blog.
I will be glad to see your react there.

Nice post

Thank you 😊

Thanks for the invitation.

Hello steemseph!
I was a jazz fanatic in my younger days, and have now unable to find a station that brings my attention to the great young musicians. I particularly want to learn about those with exceptional improvisational talent (like Keith Jarrett) or who do unusual composition or arrangemehts.

Can you suggest a few names that I can check?

Thanks in advance.

I play lots of straight ahead jazz and big band. All I know of Keith is similar to what your saying. Lots o drum and bass stuff comes to mind actually. Square pusher, Aphex Twin, Sonic Youth... lol OH!!! Musicals, I play in those and they get kinda' wacky sometimes. 😊 Leonard Bernstein created music for West side story on acid. West side story was one of the most difficult musicals I've ever had to perform.
I hope I answered your question. I assume you know Charlie Parker, Miles Davis and Thelonious Monk already. Arturo Sanduval, Bill Evans? Jobim? Joe Pass? Gordon Goodwin Big Fat Bigband? They are all fun.

Thanks for your interesting note and repoly to my question. I will check out all the new names in your note.
Among the old names, the only one unfamiliar is Goodwin, so I will check that out. Thelonious and Miles are among my lifetime favorites (heros, almost, along with Charles Mingus).
Keith Jarret (when he gets inspired) will spin out very long lines of coherent melody (it almost seems he is playing from written music). Only Miles and Cannonball Adderly (in my listening set) showed that ability consistently.
Anyway, I am anxious to 'get with' the new great guys so thanks for your leads.

Yeah, the new guys... keep in mind, some of those names I mentioned are electronic artists from the early 2000's. It felt weird mentioning them next to the greats you mentioned. I wouldn't equate them. 😁
I'm not quite sure the jazz musicians of these days consume as much heroine. My knowledge is limited and I have a lot of fun spinning around "inside the box" without worrying about impressing people outside the box. Those guys going "out of the box" back in the day, had a lot to prove. They were being the line dancing that battles the ballet... punks, punk rockers, kinda. They were also fighting racism and entitlement. imho
Do you live near Los Angeles? If you do there's a very outside club called a baked potato. I practice counting there because the musicians are always trying to trick each other. The musicians are there to do whatever they want. And that's the point. 🎃

Have you had a chance to do a YouTube tangent with your favorites? Look for live recordings of Miles Davis. Lots of stuff on YouTube. For example, search one song by Miles Davis and put "live" at the end of the song title. It and you might be surprised by the results. I've enjoyed many hours of James Brown's music that way. Lots of healthy bass perspective enveloped me.
Hey, let me know what you think.

Hey! Congratulation on reaching 50.That was a nice playlist with awesome song selection. Have fun and Keep Steeming on.

Thanks @firepower, I'm glad you like the playlist. I will probably add a couple more songs to it. Charlie Parker and Miles Davis have a couple I want to hear in the rotation.

nice! Welcome to Steemit. Headed to give you a listen :-)

Thanks for the warm welcome, and thanks for taking the time to go listen. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30