Hi Steemit! Reddit expat, happy to be here!!!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

self.jpg

Hello everyone, finally found my way here! After Reddit has started going to shit I've been looking for a new platform and after reading about Steemit it sounds really promising. (Please don't fuck this one up too, guys.) I'm excited to be a part of this growing community and to see how it's going to develop, huge fan of the concept of giving back to content creators this way. So, here I am!

My name is Besa, I'm 21 and from Germany. I'm a computer science student and trainee software developer, and my supervisor from work calls me a "full-blood techie" which I'm really proud of lol. Currently I'm doing a lot of web development, but I'd love to get into game development in the future.

When I'm not crunching numbers or brooding over my code, I do a lot of art - I started drawing when I was a kid which turned to traditional painting and recently, some pixel art, and I hope I'll be able to share some of my work with you guys 😊 Other than that, I sing and play guitar and piano, and really love photography, though I haven't been having a lot of time for that, sadly.

I'm also an avid gamer, mostly indie and retro Nintendo games. I have a Twitch stream which is on hiatus right now, but I'm hoping to pick it up soon and start streaming regularly, it's always great fun to hang out with people from all over the world and play games together. Maybe I'll see some of you guys there 😉

I even took a verification pic on my smoke break just now, just for you guys. Y'all better appreciate it 😛 (Yes, I know, smoking is bad, yada yada, I promise I'll stop. Sometime. 😛)

photo_2018-03-26_10-36-42.jpg

And to make this less boring, here are some fun facts:

  • I have heterochromia which makes my eyes different colors. I'm sure this is a sign that I've absorbed my twin in the womb. Maybe.
  • There are three keycharms on my rucksack which perfectly represent my personality: an old Intel processor because I like computers, a Legend of Zelda Triforce because I like games, and a poop emoji because I'm a literal piece of shit. 🙆
  • I learned to read with Pokémon Gold when I was 4 years old. All my favourite games suddenly made a lot more sense.
  • I'm all for free software and all my code is released under GPL.
  • I quit (daily) caffeine a couple months ago and it's done wonders for my sleep. And now my tolerance is so low that when I do need it, a cup or two of coffee hold me over the entire day. Maybe I'll write an article on the benefits of doing this. 😛
  • My brain malfunctions and tries to sabotage me a lot (aka depression and anxiety). I try to speak out openly about it, because I feel mental health awareness is really important and often overlooked nowadays, even though it's something so many of us struggle with.
  • My favourite colors are green and purple, and my favourite animals are goats, but I appreciate cute animal gifs of any species. (That's a hint. Please send me cute animal gifs.)
  • Ray cats are genetically altered cats that change the color of their fur when exposed to radiation. They're not real yet, but they definitely should be, and they have a catchy tune to go along with it.
  • But I just chose that name because it sounded nice and I thought this was gonna be more anonymous, else I would've used my regular handle Besasam, which is a combination of my name and the German name of the 1st gen grass starter Pokémon "Bisasam". Incidentally, the pun works in English too - but "Bulbesaur" just doesn't have that ring to it 😛

If you wanna keep up with my shitposting or get in touch, here's my Twitter, Instagram and Twitch. You can find all those links and some more on my website, too. And that's enough self-promo for now.

Thanks for having me, and peace out! ✌

Sort:  

Hey :-) Great pics! Thanks for sharing your intro post! Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks dude 😊


Welcome to Steem @raycat.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hey there Artist Girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you are beautiful, talented, love the nose ring, your glasses, your style, you rock, you look smart, and yeah, Reddit is following Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, down the path of globalism and other things. Love you. And I draw too. Welcome and take care.

Hey dude, thank you so much! Lots of love right back to you, see you around ✌

Have a lovely day, girl. Love you. Take care.

I have heterochromia which makes my eyes different colors. I'm sure this is a sign that I've absorbed my twin in the womb. Maybe.

This sounds more like a super ability lol, Enjoy your time here.

Maybe if they could shoot lasers ha. Thank you ^^

Hahahah you're welcome...
what's your reddit name?

/u/besasam, like everywhere else except here lol. I mostly lurk though.

Oh really, let the lurkings begin rabbit pointilism.jpg

1st:welcome to steemit
2nd:cool intro post,read every word.best intro i've seen in a while.dope!!!
3rd: cool pics too,nose ring,me likey....verification pic,appreciated...you're cool like that

P.S...you missed 4tags. edit and add more tags

Thank you so much! 😁
And thanks for the heads up, I thought those were optional and I didn't wanna spam the tags too much lol. Do you think these are okay? 😊

well, yeah! at least there's gaming now...lol

Checked your page, the game you coded is quite ingenious and cool: https://besasam.github.io/demos/chroma-sort/
Ever thought of doing a mobile version of it and putting it out there?

Thanks @m4cc! Really appreciate it!
I'm definitely going to continue tinkering with it when I have time, and I do have a mobile version planned. But it's inspired by similar games like Blendoku and I Love Hue so maybe check those out? ^^

Oh, I had no idea there were similar games.
Yours was the first one of this kind I tried!
Thank you for the references! : )

Hope to see you on reddit, I am new there.

welcome to steemit,
Get to know how to earn more on your posts and get more followers.
Make new friends and interact.
We can share our thoughts.
In the steemit school, we have ultimate contest challenges where you get to win and make investments.

You need support from a community to grow and earn easily on steemit.
I recommend one for you.
Meet over 3k + steemians.

Steemit is a business, we will teach you how to succeed

join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn

Hello, welcome to Steemit, just like you, too, I am new. If you like, enter my profile and know me

Hi @raycat, welcome to Steemit! This is an awesome site and a cool community. It might take a little bit to figure out what to do and how things work but before you know it you'll be addicted! Cheers

Thanks @exxodus, appreciate it! 😊

Hi Pretty Girl, welcome to the community.😊

Thanks @mhelrose, right back at you! 💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63706.48
ETH 2637.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83