Olá! - The perspective of a Portuguese woman living in a land far, far away (I mean, Angola)

Hello, Steemit community!



   Trying to stand out in a sea of introductions is not easy, but I have to start somewhere.

   I'm Íris, I'm 25 years old (almost 26), and I'm a Portuguese citizen living in Angola, Africa.

   I've joined Steemit not only for its blogging and networking potential, but also because I've been blogging for a while now. My blog is dedicated to books, literature, and everything inbetween. You could say I am a bookworm! However, all posts on my blog are in Portuguese, so you probably won't understand anything, but, if you grasp a bit of my language, or, as we says it, "scratch it a little bit", just click me!

   Besides blogging, I also have a degree in Fine Photography, but I'm actually working as a secretary as of this moment (how funny).

   it's like this old pillowless armchair was waiting for me


   So, TL;DR: I'm a book blogger, photographer, ah! Did I also mention that I make YouTube videos? About what...? You got it right! Books! Unfortunately, once again, I make them in Portuguese. But if you "scratch it a bit" you might understand some of what I say.


   My goal as a Steemit member is for this to be not only an extension of the work I already do on my blog, but also a way of opening the doors to other members to have a glimpse of what life is like here in Angola. This country has an incredible amount of inequality and disparities that I wish to unveil. There is just so much being swept under the rug, and it's oppressing for those who live under the poverty line - fortunately, not my case. 

   As a matter of fact, the world of cryptocurrencies has allowed me to wire my hard-earned money to my home country, Portugal. Due to the economical crisis, savings and funds cannot be wired anywhere else in the world, as we don't have other currencies available in the country (it's a long story, but long story short: corruption by the banks themselves and very low amounts of oil being exported).

   So, my Steemit profile will be basically a ramble of miscellaneous subjects about books, life in Africa as a Portuguese white citizen, and personal opinions that will seek to make people question their own. I take pride in being open-minded, I think that's the future that awaits us. 

   I also hope to exchange knowledge with fellow Steemians (is that a word?), and have fun! :)


   If you have any questions about what it's like to live in Angola feel free to ask, I've gotten used to it!

Sort:  

Hi there @Persephonept ,
Welcome to Steemit ! I am @minnowhelp, nice to meet you !

I do check the values of some offers here and hope so to help new steemians. I just started this project !

In my session 1 of testing the value of an @booster upvote I tracked the gains of different users by using this offer - so - for example @mahdiyari got for an investment of $1.96 and Post Upvote worth $5.08 !

if you want to save money, follow me on follow me on my blog! :)

Thank you so much! I've been a lurker, but then I decided to settle in, hehe.

Welcome to Steem @persephonept I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Wow..quite a live you got there. You should tell us about your life story on your next post. Pardon me but sometimes I love to hear everyone's personal story since I might learn lots of new things. I'll follow you now. Hopefully, we can learn a lot of things from each other :)

That is one of the things I want to do, even though life here is pretty boring. As Nine Inch Nails use to say, "Everyday is exactly the same", haha.
I'll be following you back too, thanks!

Bom ver que não sou a única! Obrigada! <3

Hello @persephonept Great introducemyself post!!

I'm @andyluy and I've been here for a couple of weeks, a can tell youThat steemit is the most amazing thing I've ever seen at the internet so far. I'm happy seeing it grows every day!

I had some hard time on the firsts week, so I spent some time searching information to improve my experience with steemit, latter I've decided to make posts about those things in order to help the new ones to have a shortcut to get deeper on steemit.

here is some of my posts, I hope It mitght be helpful to you:

The Randowhale
Getting videos from facebook
Minnowssupport!
Randowhale update 1

I intend to keep posting useful info that I may be able to gather, and in a near future some give away. Feel invited to follow me and if you have any question about steemit you can ask me in any of my last posts, I'll try my best to help.

That is amazing! I'll check those out. I will certainly follow you back, thanks a lot!

your are welcome anytime !
thank you too ^^

Let me welcome you to this awesome place Persephonept . I'm @chrisx and if you need any help don't hesitate to contact or follow me :-)

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Hello Persephonept - welcome to Steemit ! i am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you and all the best !

Congratulations @persephonept! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79