Bitten by a Travel Bug, Blogger/Poet Here to Connect on Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

thisone.jpg

Hey everyone!

I've been sitting on this #introduceyourself post for way too long, so I'm just going to dive in and tell you a little about myself and what I hope to bring to you guys on Steemit.

My name is Niki, I'm 29, and I love warm weather, literature, saving spiders, dancing, the forest and the sea, and people, among many other things. I make it my mission to live a full life, and to help others do the same.

IMG_20160801_165157.jpg

I've loved writing poetry since I was a wee little thing. I wrote my first poetry book at nine years old all about the woes of love (for real), and I felt at home.

Mind you, when a mane of black curls hands over her brand new collection of romantic sonnets with sticky Zebra-gum fingers, grown-ups laugh and make you feel all kinds of embarrassed.

Nevertheless, the big spark in my little heart prevailed.

IMG_20170331_143608 (3).jpg

I've also always adored photography, and I've gone through more cameras than my parents and Santa Claus could count. To this day I refuse to miss an awesome shot, no matter the crowd or the rush around me.

HPIM8355.JPG

I work from home in Cleveland, Ohio as a content writer, listening to music and creating blog posts for local, national, and international businesses. I love filling their sites with original writing and design, being a part of their success, and knowing I helped get their kids to Disneyland or something.

IMG_20161101_161415 (2).jpg
IMG_20161014_112030 (2).jpg

I also run a blog called Write in Shining Armour that focuses on "Traveling through Anxiety," and I hope to bring that inspiration and guidance to the Steemit community. Seeking a full life often means being honest, vulnerable, and choosing the scarier path, and blogging allows us to share the journey and grow stronger together.

IMG_20161024_145444.jpg

Want to know how to score a $37 flight to the Rockies or what it's like beyond the resort walls of Jamaica, or are you stuck in a rut and need some motivation to get off the couch? Could you use inspiration from a chick with all kinds of anxiety who still steps onto that plane, and sometimes even jumps out of them?

_MG_7013.JPG
_MG_7033.JPG

That's the kind of stuff I like to blog about, but I also can't wait to shower this place with all the poetry I am finally writing again. I mainly use my website for creativity and positivity, the light at the end of all the tunnels. My poetry, however, gives the darker details a place to come out without judgment.

IMG_20161031_200347 (2).jpg

Different levels of anxiety, depression, and chondromalacia patella (or "runner's knee") held me back from my big dreams for a long time. Then I discovered yoga, meditation, and reiki, and the tools I learned gave me the peace and strength I needed to push me forward through unexpected obstacles and losses.

Learning to deal with the ache in my knees and in my heart gave me the courage to explore my talents and the world, and I'm honored to share my experiences to help others reach beyond the hardships they face.

IMG_20170207_111726-other.png

Around all the reading and writing, I mostly float around with a cup of tea or glass of Cabernet and plan my next exploration or mission.

In 2016 I traveled to Canada, Jamaica, and all over the U.S., loving all of the new cultures and great friends. I also joined the intense fight at Standing Rock, ND in November to help protect our nation's water, and then attended a NoDAPL rally this past month in Buffalo, NY.

IMG_20170310_155227.jpg

In 2017, I hope to keep writing, traveling, and seeking a happy and healthy life for Mother Earth and her people. I feel Europe calling my backpack and me for an overdue exploration, and there's a lotta love to spread at home in the U.S. as well.

I hope you will hang around and join me :)

Love & Namaste,
Niki

1490989601858.jpg

Oh and here's this :D

IMG_20170403_133927.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!

Sounds like you have some interesting topics to write about, along with some heartfelt poetry. I look forward to what you share here; I followed you!

Thanks for the welcome @kenny-crane :D I'm excited to contribute more posts already. Followed back!

Welcome to steemit, great to have you here @nikinapier - let us know any questions you might have, awesome intro!

Thank you so much @uwelang! I'm thrilled to be in such a friendly community, I'll be sure to speak up if need be :) Love your posts!

Can't wait for our future posts and thanks for the nice words

Thanks so much!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your time here... based on your awesome intro, I think you'll fit right in here. Like all social media, it takes a little patience to get going and get a following... but well worth it; this is one of the most engaging online communities I've seen in years.

Thanks for the thoughtful note @denmarkguy :) It always feels a little weird to be new, but the kind words and active community are so encouraging.

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to the blockchain! I hope you enjoy your time here :)

Thanks for the welcome @raymonjohnstone! I'm loving it already :)

Welcome to steemit @nikinapier. You will do great here

Thank you for the encouragement @gringalicious! Can't wait to check out your posts :)

Welcome to SteemIt. It sounds like you will bring interesting things to the community.
A vote and a follow. Enjoy the SteemIt journey.

Thanks so much for reading @whatsup! I appreciate the follow :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17