Forgot to Post this under the tag introduce yourself #typical chessplayer :P

NB: Not really plagiarising myself- learnt all about that crapola at uni yep. But new user and had to tag introduceyourself! Lol. So here.... we... go...

Hi everyone, first time steemiter, long time subscriber. Jokes,- I always wanted to say that! Or maybe its the current state of deliriousness I'm in with the persistent barking phlegmy cough I've had for the last week! Still, life goes on, and my life is pretty good all things considered. I'm a 2015 law graduate, (uurgh law what a tremendous waste), and I now teach chess around NSW. Studying law constantly placed a massive strain on me emotionally, physically and on my intellect just to get through it all, no joke! I often had to write in excess of 1000 words each week per semester, just to finish it all, not to mention the stress of doing ALL the exams, doing the PLT at the supposed "college of knowledge", and paying around 80k all up for the degree (which was the kicker), and it didn't lead to anything at all. A barrister even described me to his colleagues as "a chess champion with a stack of distinctions." Make of that what you will. But otherwise bupkis. 300+ Job applications and nada! Dear oh dear!

Oh well, I shouldn't say that. I thought most of humanity was on the whole decent and nice... Let your imagination and the dollar signs the litigious industry craves above all else fill in the blanks. But fair enough! I am thankful though for a few (emphasis on a few!) people I met along the way on my law journey. Mostly those I met through my tournament chess playing at university. But otherwise, law pffft! What else is new?

Despite all outward appearances, I am not bitter though! Far from it!! Because why should I be? Re: chess wise I'm lucky. I am not a Grandmaster, or International Master. (For those who are new to chess, these are pretty much considered to be the top two tiers of players who play). But I have beat plenty of them at the Internet Chess Club. I was also recently featured on the national top list, for slow chess. Usually my blitz (5 minutes per player for the whole game and if you run out of time you lose), is always quite high. Currently I'm rated 2316. The best in the world is 2800, so its getting there. But nationally, my slow chess (think games that can last for 4-5 hours), is currently also 2133! Which is the highest it's ever been. Woo!

Apart from chess, I like to tell jokes, (actually I love to tell jokes), watch heaps of tv shows, anime (dragonball z and fairy tail enthusiast OMG!!) and movies as well. Before we go any further, I have to say I'm "Team Negan" though definitely- but don't hate me! I also like Rick! I consider myself to be kind of the middle ground. You have to ask yourself though, how funny was it when Negan fried the doctor hahaha. I also love my Dr. Pepper. Seriously, I'm in a steady relationship with Dr. Pepper. And I am also a massive pop vinyl enthusiast, (almost 300 now! and counting!). So all in all, I am a not so regular 29 year old guy I guess!

Frasier to Martin (Niles also there): "Dad are we odd?" Martin to Frasier: "No you're not odd, you're just special!"

PS. I will probably write another post- I can envision it being at least my third post, on unorthodox chess openings. Ho ray!!!
IMG_4298.JPG
IMG_4299.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! enjoy it here
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Hey, @newagelasker

Welcome to Steemit :)

Have you been following the new Dragon Ball series?

upvoted
@shayne

Hi @Shayne definitely :) I miss the desperation? for lack of a better word, then in Z, you always felt like every second episode in Z someone was gonna blow up, but to an extent the Black/Future Trunks arc brought all of that awesomeness back :D Wbu? What do you think is the best arc out of all of Dragonball

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem

Welcome to steemit community. I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same. Good Luck

awesome thanks @jyoungking2 followed you :)

Welcome to Steemit @newagelasker :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Hello there @newagelasker and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82