Woooh! I’ve just made it into Steemit!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit friends,

My name is Nawi Mabo and this is my first post to introduce myself. My request to be part of this wonderful platform has just been approved and you can image the level of excitement in me! You know that feeling you get when you receive that notification email in your inbox!

Where I come from.

I am from Papua New Guinea (PNG) which is located north of Australia and is part of the main island of New Guinea. Separated in the middle, the western half is called Irian Jaya and is looked after by Indonesia. The eastern half is Papua New Guinea which had its’ independence from Australia in 1975.


(A PNG woman in traditional attire. Photo: Gerhard Stemm)

PNG is often referred to as the Land of the Unexpected. This is true because if you come in as a tourist enthused on taking snaps of the gorgeous Bird of Paradise – our country's symbol, you will be surprised to find other birds that are more beautiful in colour, intriguing in calls and courtships, and surprisingly big in size. The flora and fauna of the natural environment contains many difference plant and animal species some of which are not found anywhere else in the world. Adding to this, there are over 800 different languages and people groups, each having their own unique culture and way of life. So if you decide on heading this way (and I encourage some of you to), please be advised to have extra camera batteries and huge storage space for images because as we say down here “expect the unexpected in the Land of the Unexpected”!


(Intriguing things do happen here. A pet deer trying to follow it's "adopted" mother into boarding the plane!)

What I do for a living.

More than 10 years ago I joined a group of aviation professionals whose mission is to operate light aircraft and use technology to bring help and hope to some of the world’s poorest communities. I work for Mission Aviation Fellowship PNG (MAF) as the Ground Operations Training Co-ordinator. MAF has been serving for over 60 years in PNG providing air transport in a front where flying is not a luxury but a lifeline! Through this crucial mission, hundreds of lives have been saved, modern buildings have been erected in remote and isolated places and people have been provided a means by which essentials goods and services are able to reach them. I believe in helping others and putting smiles on people’s faces. Apart from working in this amazing humanitarian charity organisation (http://maf-papuanewguinea.org/) I also use my space time voluntarily to help disadvantaged people improve their lives by teaching basics of the modern way of life.

My Home & Family.

I am married (to one wife!). In PNG, a man can marry as many wives as he chooses! (another amazement in the Land of the Unexpected!) My wife and I have two children. My family is dear to me. I believe they are the next important thing in my list of life’s priorities after God! We have a wonderful home where we plant flowers, fruits and vegetables. I like gardening because in addition to being a source for fresh and healthy produce, it eases my stress, keeps me limber and even improves my mood.

Steemit believer

I’m glad to be a Steemit believer and hope to post stories of the work I do, things I like, things I’d love to see intrigue other people and stories about the country I live in. I hope other Steemit believers will like my posts. Through this I hope to make many friends!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @nawi I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome @Nawi :) hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me .

Thanks for welcome

Welcome to Steemit! If you have questions - ask me @dobroman

Thanks for the welcome

Welcome to Steemit @nawi, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thanks @earncrypto for the welcome

very nice intro...,i am following and upvoted you! give me the best @kunani

Thanks @kunani for the welcome

welcome again! keep in touch

Congratulations @nawi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! It came to my attention that you have a new account so this is me supporting you. Have an upvote and rock on!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those first upvotes on my posts so you should try out Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Many thanks @kromosoom. I'm following you now and will try Steemfollower.

Congratulations @nawi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit. Several years ago we supported a missionary couple to PNG until they returned to the state. MAF is a wonderful organization and I was glad to see you are involved with them. I've upvoted and followed you. Look forward to your adventures.

Thank you @johncalvin. We have members of the mission from many parts of the world including the States. It is one of the many benefits to work here and learn the different lifestyles of people from different parts of the world. But even greater is a wonderful blessing to see different people come to gather, bring in their expertise and resources and be part of this great mission to bring hope and healing to the needy. Reminds me of Paul and his ministry team on their mission to spread the gospel of Jesus to the gentiles.

Thank you for following. I am following you too. God bless!

Hey there! Welcome to the fastest growing monetized platform for bloggers and writers. You may find it easy to quit rather than persist because it is tough.

Nevertheless persistence beats luck.

We have also made a way for new steemians to get reknown. Read more here

Just follow now and for a limited time you get a discount on resteems: @thelifestyler. The link below allows you to get more payout on a post. (Tip #1)
Click here

To mine Monero free for 48hrs with no strings attached to withdraw click here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65531.60
ETH 2644.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81