Introducing @kellyjanderson and a short summary of his journey to photography

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemers!

I actually created my Steemit account, well almost a year ago, but have just now created my first post and I figured I should write an introduction. Also I need to thank @kommienezuspadt for recommending Steemit to me!

kelly selfie.jpg

My name is Kelly Anderson (@kellyjanderson), by trade I am a software engineer. In software engineering I focus on front-end engineering, writing code mainly in JavaScript and Swift, using React and React native. My passion, however is photography, and on Steemit I will mostly be focusing on photography, unless there is a group of you out there interested in combining the two because I am looking into creating more photo software applications and online communities for sharing and selling photos.

As a photographer I took my first photo in October of 2011, using a used Panasonic DMC-FZ35 that I bought used on Amazon. I did not want to spend much because I did not know whether it would stick as a hobby or not.

Flower at the MOA.jpg

My first photo was not bad for a guy who bought a used camera and watched a couple of YouTube videos on taking pictures.

It turns out that I took to it right away and quickly outgrew my trusty little superzoom: two months later I stopped taking photos because my camera was insufficient, which in retrospect was a bit petulant of me -- but we all have our moments. For Christmas that year I bought myself a pretty new Nikon D5100 and a 35mm (equivalent) prime lense. Since then I have tried just about every kind of photography to varying degrees of success, landscapes, cityscapes, portraiture, and abstract photography. I have found that I really love botanical macro photography and portraiture.

I guess that is enough rambling for an introduction, I will leave you with a few select photos, not necessarily to show off my best work, but I hope more to show off my journey and growth over the years.

The Treasure Hunter.jpg
First street photo Nikon D5100

First portrait.jpg
First Portrait shoot, Nikon D5100 35mm 1.8, natural light.

lighting control.jpg
Gaining control of Speedlights, Nikon D5100 35mm f/1.8 lens - aperture f/8

Revelation.jpg
Mastering speedlights, Nikon D5100 lens 18 - 55mm kit lens

Hmmm, I haven't even gotten to my floral photography but this post already has six images, I suppose you will just have to follow me and watch for more posts. :-D

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey, you know what they say: "Right time is right now" :-)

Those are perhaps some of the truest words ever spoken or written. Thanks for your support!

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

@Kellyjanderson - welcome to steemit. Hope you will enjoy ! All the best @digital-gypsy

Thanks, so far I am enjoying my time here.

This comment has received a 0.23 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @digital-gypsy.

Welcome to Steem @kellyjanderson I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hello @kellyjanderson and welcome to steemit!

Have UPVOTED You :)

This is a great place and with a great community – I am also new on here: @theinspirator :)

Here is a gift for you to watch! There are 4 main factors that you need to-do to be very successful on steemit! Watch the quick video: https://steemit.com/steemit/@theinspirator/4-tips-for-massive-long-term-success-on-steemit

Welcome @Kellyjanderson to Steemit ! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Good to meet you and thank you. I will check your blog out.

Glad to meet you, and glad you came back to Steemit! We need more original photography on here! I like the name of your flower series! It is all about the light! You are doing a great job for a newbie photographer. You will be a pro in no time! :-)

Thank you for your kind words. I have just this year begun to see, what I consider excellence in my work. The positive feed back from professional photographers like yourself really reenforces my self confidence.

Great introduction, Kelly. That was a great idea to post some of your first photos! Thank you for sending it to me. If you don't mind, I am going to use it as a "model" for mine. You got my upvote!

Thanks @sea-otter! I would be honored if you use my post as a template. I am looking forward to seeing your intro!

Hello Nice to meet you @kellyjanderson , welcome to steemit, hope you are comfortable here, here is a new home for lovers of bloggers and the best platform today, very good intro, I like that, do not forget to visit my profile for info tips and tricks about steemit @wahyusaputra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22