Hello Steemit! I am Ryunosuke from myBad Studios introducing myself! Hajimemashite

Hi everyone.

Following the recommendation by @teamsteem I will make my first post an introduction to all things me. I’ll update the image with one of me as soon as I have one of me with the Steem text on it, for now please accept the first 2D graphic I ever made inside of Unity. For that very reason it is rather special to me 😊
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg

My name is Ryunosuke Jansen and I am using Steem to help me communicate with people in more characters than can fit in a tweet and without all the annoying ads and spam that come with a certain other social media site. C'mon, you know which one I mean... 🤔

As you will read a little further down, I am the owner of myBad Studios and plan on using Steemit to share videos of the games I am working on, tutorials on how to use the assets I created (I have been extremely lazy in creating videos in past so this will be something new for me ) as well as posting general coding tutorials related to making games (focusing on Unity ).

My Details

  • 42 years old
  • South African
  • Both married and single (True story!) Let's leave it at "Complicated" for now 😁
  • Self-Employed
  • Freelance video game developer
  • Speak: Afrikaans, English
  • Wish I spoke: Japanese, Latin, French, German

Social Following

Favourite Things

  • Fruit: Watermelon and pears
  • Sports: Being a spectator
  • TV Show: Big Bang Theory
  • Athlete / artist: Maddie Ziegler
  • Books: Everything by Terry Pratchett
  • Poem: The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe
  • Music: No one artist / genre stands out to me. I love many songs by many people ranging from opera to Marilyn Manson and Baby Metal
  • Music special mention: Cellophane by Sia, Tove Lo
  • Music videos:
  1. Me! Me! Me! - A visual an audio feast to anyone who is not easily offended
  2. Do you want to date my avatar - Even more funny than cat videos! 😍
  3. Elastic Heart - It blew my mind with so many questions that I was able to write the entire plot for a video game from back story to happily ever after. Can't wait to bring my vision to reality and share it with the world!

Favorite Movies

This deserves a paragraph all of it's own

  • Grave of the Fireflies - This is a movie I feel everyone simply MUST watch!
  • Clockwork Orange - If you can stomach it then this is a MUST also!
  • Anything with Joe and Silent Bob in it - I just love Kevin Smith! 💖
  • The Big Lebowski - Just to "check what condition my condition is in"
  • Original 3 Star Wars movies - No idea what numbers they are nowadays
  • So F*cking What - As far as social commentary goes, I love the message this movie sends
  • Family Man - Changed my life forever by teaching me the meaning of life!

More about me

As a victim of 11 years of child abuse I grew up living in constant fear and never left my room if I could help it. As a result I grew up 100% void of any social interactions/influences and lack of experience of what is and is not acceptable in social surroundings. Instead I grew up inside one big fantasy world where I had to invent the entire cast, activities for them to partake in, interactions, relationships, conflicts, accidents, resolutions, dialogue... the works. I developed an imagination that is permanently in “overdrive ultra plus extreme” mode.

Webp.net-resizeimage (1).jpg

When I first discovered programming I discovered that finding solutions to problems came really easy to me and after only 6 months of teaching myself coding and writing replacements for whatever commercial app crashed on me I was bored with programming due to the lack of challenge it offered me. That was when someone recommended I look into game development. After I laughed in his face at the prospect that this might be a challenge for me I went home and looked into it...and that was it. I was hooked and the rest of my life was decided then.

I went to the UK and found myself sold into slavery. During this period I continued to learn coding during my breaks and after I was sold to the company who gave me back my freedom I started going to college to learn more. After the terror attack on London the college I attended closed it's doors without me even finishing my first year so I just returned to doing what I do best: Teaching myself.

In 2008 I said "Let me try to make a game" and after three weeks I had gone from an empty folder to a published game. I uploaded the game to Apple.com at 2am then went to bed. At 7am I got up to find an email from my ISP saying my account has been suspended for excessive bandwidth use. Looking into it I saw my download cap had been exceeded by 650% by the time they locked my account. I found that my game was already live and rated staff picks number 1. Later I noticed that downloads landed it on the top 10 downloads list on the entire Apple.com site, right on the same list as the free OS updates! 😎 That was an amazing thing to see and felt really, really good!

Unfortunately, believe it or not, I didn't make any money with that game (in fact, I LOST money on it) but it did get me noticed and within a month I landed a job with a major games company to work on an established and popular online game... only to be denied a visa to return to the UK and take the job. A week later I was hired as a freelance developer by a Japanese company and I have been doing freelance work ever since.

Over the years I have created a number of very well received assets to help game developers create their games and also created (or helped with) games for other people. Starting in 2018 I want to return to making games of my own again and start with creating an entire games portal to allow for cross game data sharing among other things. This is my main challenge. Freelance work is still welcome but I definitely want to work on projects of my own.

Webp.net-resizeimage (2).jpg

myBad Studios and education

Another thing I started back up again is my Learn site where I aim to teach people who know nothing about programming the basics of programming using plain, simple, layman English to accompany the myriad of examples. The first time I started this I had the owner of an online training center look at my work and he was full of praise but had some pointers also. I took his advice and updated the site but then that entire site was lost due to an error on my web host's part and has been inactive for a very, very long time.

Only recently did I start it back up again and currently I am still on the basics like teaching people the various (probably unorthodox) ways in which they can use basic things like enumerations and static functions but hopefully soon I will get back to teaching them about the joys of autonomous behaviors and the benefits of making everything in the game self managed... all in simple, plain, layman English that will make any newbie go "Oh, I get it!"

My teaching style is very different from the norm but I aim to teach the absolutely new and get them to become good enough at what they do that I would want to hire them to come work for me... if they don't decide to work for themselves instead. I will simply have to wait and see...

My intentions for Steem

As I inferred above, I am a programmer and I am very good at what I do. Unfortunately I am no good at anything else... and that includes advertising and promotion. Heck, even my contract work comes from word of mouth since I just truly suck at promotion and advertising. As such my sites and my tutorials are all suffering from a very severe lack of foot traffic.

I thus intend to post my tutorials on here instead. Here at least there is always foot traffic and all I have to do is stick my head up and say "Hi!"... so please expect to see me pop up every now and then over here and over there like a blockchain game of whack-a-mole! 😁

I hope that my tutorials will find an audience that find them useful. I look forward to posting them and reading your feedback :)

Till then
Yoroshiku onegaishimasu

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

I am so happy that you are here, jansensensei! I wish you a very prosper journey here on Steemit! May the force be with you ;)

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

So many warm welcomes! Thank you everyone for this super awesome welcome! :D

You really joined a great platform. amazing introduction as I have seen one of the best intro like your. I and all steemit community warmly welcome you at this stage. Work hard .. our support is with you always. Best of luck dear @jansensensei

@jansensensei, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit.
images (22).jpeg

@jansensensei welcome to this great community..I'm positive you'll do well , I've followed you, please do well to follow back..peace!

hello dear brother! welcome to steemit! I hope you enjoy is here. stay with steemit!

For a second there I thought you were my brother and I thought "Holy cow! He complains that he can't find me on Whatsapp and yet he already found me here! Amazing!" ... then I facepalmed myself :P

Welcome to Steemit jansensensei. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Thank you Janne. I was reading some "best practices" and "faq" type posts before I did my intro message. @teamsteam said that if you were referred here by someone you should probably give clear attribute (Sorry, the correct word eludes me at the moment) so I was thinking:

I found this site because DTube suggested I log in with my Steem credentials. So technically I was referred here by DTube. Ummm... how do I credit Dtube as my referrer? :P

lol

Oh no... it seems this post is so well liked that I can no longer edit it... Therewith my hopes and dreams of adding a picture of me to the post is sadly never to be... Sniff...Sniff...

Yet fear not, ye who liketh this post thus.. for I, the most humble Sir Pride-a-lot shall not taketh from thee even a single opportunity to marvel over how gloriously Shrek-like my reflection be.

Truly, said I, images of I are either the heralds of boredom or the ushers of nightmares. I fear I have nought in my possession the Balm of Gilead thus if thou hast nightmares from the image below thy would do well to remember these words:
It's not my fault! Steemit made me do it!

May those words comfort thee and sooth thee back to sleep after such many a harsh awakenings from what was to be a peaceful slumber... peaceful now, nevermore!

WP_20180607_17_58_27_Pro.jpg
And his eyes have all the seemings of a daemon's that is dreaming
And the lamp light over him streaming cast his shadow upon the wall
And from that darkness a peaceful slumber shalt be had
Nevermore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13