A music producer and gamer - My 99 Followers Revamp on my 'About Me'.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! I was going through some of my old posts and I read over my first post - my 'about me' post. Not that it was bad, but at the time I didn't realize how much time I would actually spend here, so I'd love to re-up my 'introduceyourself' post and let you guys know more about who I am and why I am here.

As I hit my 99th follower, I felt like I could allow myself to celebrate a little early and hope that this post gets me to my 100th! I have to say, it's been an AMAZING past 6 months or so getting to know the Steemit platform and community. It's a rare thing to have such a positive, supportive, enthusiastic collective of individuals all flock to one place, so hats off to all of you and the Steemit developers.


My name is Mike Harrison and I'm a music producer/composer. Over the last 10 years, I've worked with a countless number of developing artists on their early releases. I've been lucky enough to license my music to companies like Microsoft and Sony, and I've placed for awards in competitive remixing for names like Usher, Marcy Playground, Imperial Mammoth, and Swimming with Dolphins. I love writing music, I love producing music, and I love navigating the industry as difficult as it may be sometimes. This has always been what I want to do with my life, and I live every day as such.


TORCHES ACADEMY


In my more recent years, my passion lies with a youth program I started called 'Torches Academy', where my team and I teach the youth music production and composition in order to promote social/emotional health, entrepreneurship, and workforce development in music.

TABusinessCard.png

'Torches' was once an alias I wrote music under, but I have since donated the name to my program. We've had a great couple years making music together, and the program grows a little bit every day. We teach in-person sessions at non-profits and continuing education programs in CT, and we also teach online through lessons and live streams.

13925138_1834913130075731_2637218699062948103_n.jpg

I've always felt that it's a shame that electronic music hasn't broken into the mainstream music education curriculum, and I aim to supplement this loss through Torches Academy.

13876617_1834519780115066_9042870496583440070_n.jpg

CapturelEARNtOmAKE.jpg


Elpi5

I also write music under the alias, Elpi5. It's a little side project I started last year, with the intent to really just start making music that I have a ton of fun with. I spend a lot of time working on music, commercially or for other artists, and I really wanted to have something that was my own.

Elpi5 could be categorized briefly as chiptune-inspired EDM. I've always loved gaming and music and it seems that when I compose in my most natural, comfortable environments, this is the product. I do this for fun more than anything else, but of course I always hope that some individuals can have some fun listening as well.

I released my first EP, 'Explorer', earlier this year. I also did a Sonic the Hedgehog Remix EP that released around the same time. All of my music on bandcamp is 'Pay what you want', so I hope some of you are at the very least compelled to download, if not pay! You can check out the tunes below:

https://elpi5.bandcamp.com/

cover.jpg

I'm currently working on my second EP, and I'm predicting to be done before 2017 is over! I'm always looking for cool VG music to cover as well.


Gaming

The last thing that I post about here on Steemit is gaming. I'm a huge gamer! Pretty much as simple as that! Some of the games I love and may post about are:

  • Starbound
  • Payday 2
  • Rocket League
  • The Elder Scrolls franchise
  • Portal 1 & 2
  • Borderlands franchise
  • Age of Empires II
  • Warcraft III
  • FTL: Faster than Light
  • Anything by Tomorrow Corporation
  • Orcs Must Die franchise

Honestly, those are just a handful - there are way too many games that I've played and loved to list them all here. Hopefully, we'll get the chance to chat about them together!


Anyways, thank you to anyone who read through this beast of a post. As I said, Steemit has proven to be such a phenomenal community - my first post here just didn't do it justice. Thanks again, and hope to meet many more of you.


If you are interested in chatting about music, you can join the 'Steemit Local Music Society' Discord channel (which I am an administrator on). We strive to support, boost, and network with independent musicians on Steemit - come chat with the community. Once you make an account on https://discordapp.com/, click the following link to join our server:

Steemit Local Music Society Discord

Much love to you all.

Sort:  

look like pro tools there on the screen? You teach pro tools ? I joined discord today and hope to collaborate with many musician around the world in the future ( this is why I am here mostly)

Hey @vachemorte - It's actually FL Studio, sorry! But welcome to our Discord! It's been a big hit so far - happy to have you there!

uh! I like electronic music)

That's what I like to hear! :P

I'm not into producing music, but I play instruments. I also love games. Nice to have you here.

Very Interesting. def upvote and def follow. Best energies on your schooling project. I'm going to check out your Elpi5 tunage now.

Thank you very much @greatdabu. Following back - much appreciated!

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! :-)

Very much so @bart2305! Nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87