Plant Based Recipes #1 - A seriously simple and delicious Veggie Burger (Our first post!)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Firstly I'd like to say a big whopping Hi to all you Steemitarians! I'm Marc and together with my wife Silvia we cook and prepare plant based recipes! Plant based means Vegan, but we're not that kind of vegan that forces you to comply or die! We simply want to give as many people as possible the option to make some nice and always easy to prepare dishes.

This is our very first recipe on Steemit and we're really excited to have found a platform where we can expand our outreach. Our main mission might surprise a few, but we're really here to "help and save". We've been on Instagram for 4 years and we have a small FB following I just started. It's always the same motto Help and Save. That means we show others how to eat healthy plant based food and in doing so, we help both our followers and each dish you make, less animals end up on a plate, which is the save part :). As we go along I shall be explaining more about ourselves, but right now I just wanted to say hi and thanks for the opportunity. So without further a do, the following recipe is something I designed just a few days ago and I was very surprised with the excellent flavour. Our recipes are always simple, so if you like what you see, maybe you would like to bookmark us or even give us a follow. 

JUMBO BLACK BEAN, CILANTRO, BEETROOT BURGER

I really never thought that a plant based vegan burger could even come close to a real meat burger and I know many people still have that mindset. Being vegan doesn't mean I can't remember what a meat burger tastes like, I mean, I literally lived of fast food for a zillion years! I LOVED MEAT BURGERS!!!

However as a food junkie, I can happily say for me, that times have changed! As I became a Vegan I literally remember going to McDonalds the day before I committed to a plant based lifestyle and eating 2 burgers, thinking that I would probably never be able to eat a real burger again.

4 years later, I can tell you, we have 100% meat tasting burgers that even have blood dripping out of them!!! But I can also tell you, the 'beef' burger (vegan or not) is boring compared to the new plant based options. The evolution of burgers has changed so much the last year or 2, that in my honest and unbiased opinion, plant based burgers really rock!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1/2 green bell pepper
  • 1/2 half red bell pepper
  • 4 oz/120 gr/0.25 pounds tinned sweet corn
  • 14 oz/400 gr/ 0.8 pounds boiled black beans
    (if canned, make sure you drain them extremely well. You’ll get better results if you boil dried beans)
  • A bunch fresh cilantro
  • 1 cup ground oats (make sure you have a bit more just in case) can be substituted with flax meal
  • 8 big portobello mushrooms the size of a burger bun
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 Big tomato
  • 1 Zucchini
  • 4 Slices vegan cheese (optional)
  • lettuce
  • 1/2 red onion
  • burrito spices
  • ketchup at taste

Directions 

  1. For the burger: Finely chop half a white onion and fry in a shallow  pan with 2 spoons of olive oil for a few minutes till golden.
  2. Finely chop both the green and the red bell peppers and add to pan and gently fry for another 7-8 minutes.
  3. In the meanwhile chop the cilantro in to small bits.
  4. Now add the pre-boiled and drained black beans to your pan and mash  them with a fork. Stir well together with the peppers and onions and add  in any burrito spices you have on hand. Add in the cilantro, salt and  pepper to taste. I usually make it a little stronger because when adding  the next step, the oats take away a bit of the flavor.
  5. Add just half the oats or flax meal at first, then add little by  little if needed. You want to make a dough like mixture that is stiff  enough to form the patties. This is usually going to vary depending on  the consistency of the beans.
  6. Now you have your mixture right, take some baking paper, pour the  rest of your oats or flax meal on it and form the patties. Place the  patties on to a tray and let rest in the refrigerator for at least an  hour. You can just go ahead and make the burgers right away but chances  are that they’ll break, so don’t say I didn’t warn you. With that said,  if you’re short on time or just so darn hungry, place them in the  freezer for 30 minutes and prepare a side dish to accompany this dish,  such as the oven sweet potato yams, which are absolutely yammalicious!
  7. Once the patties have had time to rest and hardened a little, place  them in a non-stick pan adding just 2 spoons of olive or coconut oil.
  8. Let your awesome looking burgers sizzle for a few minutes on each  side. One trick I like to do is make sure that the heat is turned up  when placing the patties in the pan. Then after just a minute or so I  turn the heat down. That way the burger becomes even stronger.
  9. Whilst your bean burgers are sizzling nice and gently in the  background, it’s time to prepare your portobello mushrooms. Start by  removing the stems. Place the heads in another pan, again with just 2  spoons of oil and very gently warm. Don’t cook for too long otherwise  you’ll end up with a burger you can’t actually hold.
  10. All that’s left now is to prepare your toppings. Cut the zucchini in  to long slices. Slice your purple onions and tomatoes. Grill for a few  moments in the pan again with little to no oil.


Last but not least, I can't emphasize how much we like to help. That means, it's clear that here on Steemit, we're not going to be surrounded by plant based vegans. But even on our Instagram, we help mainly people who just want to eat a plant based meal and nothing more. So if you do have any questions about preparing your dish, let us know with a comment. 

So that's it, that was our first post, I just wanted to get 1 out and do it. We have thousands more posts to come so stay tuned. Thanks for your time 

Marc & Silvia xoxo


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @govegan I have sent you a tip

Thanks for the welcome and I'm extremely thankful for the tip as I've literally dove straight in to this without reading a thing. So your and any tips shall be gratefully appreciated!

Welcome to Steemit @govegan :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Hi my fellow steemian,
I am happy to welcome you aboard this great community. I must say that this burger looks so tempting to devour. Can I have a bite please? 🙈 😁

@globalfoodbook, thanks, I'm happy to be here. I love new adventures! Thanks for giving me some burger love, I am a bit of a burgaholic so there shall be a few more good recipes to come. :)

Wow, 💃 💃 😁 😁
Please, bring on the burgaholic recipes as I can't wait to start experimenting in my kitchen 🤣
I am even following you already to keep connected!
Cheers

Great stuff, thanks for the follow, definitely look forward to chatting some more!

My pleasure 👍

I'm now officially starving ! ;)

Welcome to this incredible platform,

Hope you enjoy this place as much as I do. It's not difficult to get started. A little effort will truly go a long way, engagement is key.
A great way to start is by Following ,Upvoting & Resteeming people and they will do the same for you. Good luck !

You can follow my blog @wannerbet - I'm doing a 100K trading challenge starting very soon !
You can check it out here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@wannerbet/hello-eur100-000-steem-powered-trading-challenge

I'm also doing a ''Trading For Beginners'' series which you can check out here : https://steemit.com/steem/@wannerbet/crypto-currency-trading-beginners-guide-not-technical

Thanks for the welcome @wannerbet I shall be definitely looking at your posts as I trade daily! So we can make an exchange deal. You keep feeding me with good informative posts and I'll make sure you have the energy to write them :)

Amazing looking burger, thanks for the recipe.... following!

Awesome Andrew thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27