One Road Led To Steemit, the Other...?

Hi there Steemit - This is my first post here and I'd like to introduce myself:

  1. I'm 37 and live in London. It snowed here yesterday so I attempted to snap the snow on my terrace...
    IMG_4697.JPG

  2. I have worked in Banking Regulation for the past decade - I'm still working on my exit strategy and believe if I invest smartly during this wave of technological disruption, it might just be my escape route!

Clearly I'm a big fan of the blockchain and decentralised projects so finding and joining this community is brilliant for many reasons:

  • Steemit is a real-life social content sharing platform using the blockchain and I love the project!
  • I love trying the applications out to see how it all works and understand the functionality. I got into Cryptokitty last week and experienced first hand how the Ethereum network basically ground to a halt (I'm heavily invested in Ethereum btw so this is not a dig!). So I'm very interested in following the scalability resolution... another post topic perhaps.
  • Steemit appears to have attracted many people who are interested in blockchain and cryptocurrencies - it's great to be surrounded by early adopters!

It's hard to explain how excited I am about this current moment in history, although I suspect most people here feel the same: the decentralisation movement via blockchain is going to change the world in a big way.

I know it's not really the very beginning, but it's the awakening of the mainstream where the biggest opportunities lie as the developments over the last 7 years morph into real life use cases and projects begin to evolve and deliver... in Fintech, Energy, Banking, Transport, Smart Technologies, Consumer Market - our entire world will be different in 10 years.

Oddly most people I talk to in my everyday life don't seem to know much about blockchain (they've usually heard of bitcoin though) so it's exciting to share the use case for things like ethereum, iota, steem etc etc - of course my explanations are rather layman's terms as I'm not a programmer - although I attempt to understand the whitepapers!

It's the mind blowing possibilities that blockchain makes possible that fascinates me - my family and friends have had lengthy monologues on this topic!

As an investor I feel like a child in a candy store, and as a human I feel like I've just swallowed the red pill (or was it blue?)

Things that interest me and I'll likely be posting about are new projects I research, motivation and personal development, trading psychology and market manipulation (how to protect yourself)as well as general random things of interest which means I'm looking forward to following many of your own posts here on Steemit.

I'll leave you now with my golden dog (there really is no reason) and thanks for reading!
IMG_4693.JPG

Sort:  

Golden Dog or golden Doge? ;)

Ha ha... yes could be seen as a subliminal message there - maybe it's a sign that it will be my coin of luck (or not!) Thanks for the welcoming note :)

Welcome to steemit @gonebankerboy. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @gonebankerboy to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to steemit.
Would be looking forward to learn from your posts.

@mcyusuf

Thanks - look forward to learning from yours too

Welcome! :)

Thank you! Good to finally be here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87