More About Me & My Love For....... MUSIC!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I've always considered myself to be an outcast in a way.
People in high school knew me, and I wasn't completely anti-social, but I had a hard time relating and feeling like I could be myself with others.
I was into different things, different styles, music, and different hair.

                   (Both pictures from Freshman year, 2012)

I loved post-hardcore music, dying my hair, wearing band shirts, and going to concerts.
I wasn't allowed to go to shows or any concerts, but I would still find a way to get there.
I guess you could say I was a rebel.

I always did well throughout high school, so that was my excuse as to why I should be able to go to concerts.

I love music, and I know many of you do too. (I hope)
Music helped me through my lonely and dark times.
Not to mention, the turn-up times.
I didn't care about much.
As long as I had music, I was content.
I was always watching interviews of my favorite bands and learning about anything and everything about them.
I was always at backyard shows too.
Watching local bands and supporting my friends who performed.

I grew up listening to Nirvana, Sublime, Led Zeppelin, The Doors, Pink Floyd, The Cure, The Smiths, etc. (Thank you, Momma!)
I guess you could say I was into that alternative look and style.
I was into post-hardcore, punk, classic rock, 80's, EDM, some rap, but it was until 12th grade when I discovered my favorite kind of music........ Indie/Psychedelic music.

My best friend Sarah took me to a local house show in Fontana, California. (changed my life)

(Address changed to a Fontana one, original flyer)

I was a little hesitant at first, but I still went.
After I paid and I opened the door, a cloud of marijuana smoke hit my face.
The show was inside, and everyone was dancing, drinking, smoking, and grooving to the bands.
I liked the environment, and the music made it all the better.
People from the music scene seemed supportive of the bands and would get excited each time a new band would perform.
The first band I heard was a local band from Rancho Cucamonga, Ca named Pity Party.
The last band that performed was Katarina, a band from Hesperia, CA.
Before Katarina played, I took my first dab of wax ever, and it made me get really into the music. Overall, I was happy and having a great time with friends.
At the show they had lights flashing, people crowd surfing, and everyone was just vibing as one.
Ever since then I've been going to local indie shows.

(Night of my first indie show with friends, 2015)

I got really into indie music in college, and that was when I decided I wanted to work on music.
I got into bands like Diiv, Tame Impala, King Krule, Beach House, Craft Spells, Wild Nothing, etc.
From then on I discovered more and more artists.
In college, I was going through a sad time being away and just feeling lost.
I started writing again and just talking about my emotions and what I was going through.
I got creative and whenever I was feeling stressed out I would take some time and just write.

(2013)

(2015)

(2016)

I always knew I was different.
My love for music, some people won't understand, and that's fine because they aren't me.
What music has done for me and how it made me who I am today, only I know.
Something I'm really thankful for is that music opened my mind and made me realize NOT to JUDGE A BOOK BY IT'S COVER.
Sometimes we won't understand something and maybe we won't ever understand it but to go into it with an open mind is something I hope everyone does.
Whether it is with people, new activities, ideas, opinions, or even music, I hope you all open your mind a little more and maybe you'll find out some new things about yourself you didn't know you liked.

Thanks for reading,

  • Gisselle Psychedelic

P.S. I'm going to be blogging about music festivals and artists I think people should check out :))

Sort:  

wellcome

Very cool, Giselle!

Happy to have such a unique individual joining out platform, and bringing others aboard!

For some tips and info please check out my latest post, and I would love if you'd share some appreciation with a like. Cheers, Ms. Psychedelic! https://steemit.com/money/@crypt0/what-is-steemit-should-you-invest-some-ether-or-bitcoin

hey, you look like an anime character!!

Uber cool chic :)

hipster chick ;)

Delighted to have you here with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82