Well... I believe it's finally time to introduce myself

My Steemit Story


I joined steemit back in November of last year. I was a college student studying computer science at the time and had heard about cryptocurrency but was too busy to really investigate. Some friends and I had been discussing decentralized social media alternatives, so I went for a search to see what already existed. A few came up, including diaspora*. I joined steemit at this time, mostly for its decentralized aspects. I also received 30 free steem (or something like that, I don't remember exactly how much) which I obviously thought was awesome! I considered converting it to fiat. (what? I was a broke college student, don't judge me) After reading a few posts about accruing interest for holding steem I thought, what the hell I'll keep it. I logged out, and never visited steemit again...

Until I graduated. I finally had time to investigate the details of cryptocurrency. I'd always been interested in the possibilities, but didn't understand the details. Until I started diving deep into the subject. I then remembered that I'd joined steemit months ago and was again interested in the possibility of a monetized social media platform. So I logged back in to my account and to my surprise my 30 steem had risen 10 times in value!

On to Introductions!

I'm a recent graduate from the Utah State University computer science department. I recently started working at Amazon as a software engineer where my team and I utilize AWS big data technologies, but, I'm hoping to eventually transition into a blockchain engineer role.

Since graduating I've become obsessed with cryptocurrency. I write a new post on my blog just about every weekend. My most recent post is some lessons I've learned the hard way about deploying smart contracts using parity. I aim to start posting these to steemit as well, so keep your eyes peeled!

https://www.twitter.com/@sjkelleyjr
https://www.instagram.com/sjkelleyjr
https://www.linkedin.com/in/s-jackson-kelley-jr-b63135104/
https://sjkelleyjrblog.wordpress.com/
http://www.sjkelleyjr.com

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @five34a4b! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks, I'm not really a new steemian ha ha, but I'll take all the advice I can get!

Great story.
Congrats and well, and formally welcome :)

Thank you! it's about time right?

Hey! This is great! I finally know what your tongue looks like!

lol, want to her something else funny?

I wear glasses, but they are getting old, or my eyes are, and I have to take a real close look to see correctly. I've been seeing your avatar for quite a while now, and this is what I thought I was seeing (try scrunching up your eyes from a distance, maybe you'll see what I did).

A spaceman! Sorreee...

LOL this is really cool actually ha ha

Awesome introduction, Kenny bleepin Powers couldn't have done it much better, but he just did. Check my stuff out as well I follow everyone who follows me and upvote all comments made on my blogs. They would be very intriguing to someone who lived in Logan and rooted for the Aggies.

wwhhaattt! nice call on the Aggies call out! you've done your homework!

No I am just a knucklehead who used to play a lot of NCAA Football on Playstation.

Good introduction! Welcome back to Steemit.Glad to know you're here to stay this time. :) Keep Steeming and have fun.

I plan on it! Thanks for stopping by!

Hello! @five34a4b Welcome to the Steemit community! An interesting journey awaits! Lots of nice people here. I just upvoted this post and followed you, please do the same so we can support each other. Trust me, you're going to have loads of fun! Wishing you a marvelous time and many great days ahead! :)

Awesome! Will do!

Hello @five34a4b welcome to Steemit . Maybe your post may not immediately get a lot of upvoted but I believe your continued hard work and effort will makes you success. Follow me @stanley888 Thank you

Yeah, it definitely didn't! ha ha but I'll keep posting regardless!

Congratulations engineer thank you for sharing!

Thank you! It's been a long road to becoming an engineer. I actually used to be a musician for a long time.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Steem is behaving weird in low voting percentages, so actual votes can diverge by up to 1 voting percent point.
Nice, you got a 3.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @steemking777
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @five34a4b to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14