So Here I am

18556909_10213114129159057_5170656964712631853_o.jpg

My name is Will, and I recently woke up and found myself an old man. It is not something I wanted, and have railed against adulthood to everyone who would listen for a long time. Adulting is done so poorly by most, and I've almost decided that it really isn't something that is worth doing. But yet my beard is grey and my joints creek.

I am a small animal veterinary surgeon (not board certified) with 12 children (5 adopted and one for whom we are guardian and full time custodian). This combination has meant that I have very little time beyond those passions, and it has made me a particularly boring individual.

In my spare time and bathroom moments, I tend to be a shameless geek. I study science journals, probing the findings of interesting and intelligent people who have spent their lives enlightening others with new studies and research. I play with computers and dabble in computer languages to better be amazed at the great skill and intelligence that goes on behind the miraculous electronic devices I am so tempted to take for granted.

I lead and train Wilderness Search and Rescue Teams to assist lost persons or downed aircraft in the Smokey Mountains and by extension work a bit with survivalists. (can work flint and steel but prefer fire starting with thermite).

I recently purchased a Honda NightHawk, which was my dream bike as a youth, and find few things as rewarding as waving at other bikers on the road. Somehow being so vulnerable, surrounded by the smells of the world that are often missed in an auto is invigorating. Haven't laid it down yet.

dive light 2.jpg

As my kids started getting older, we decided to pick up SCUBA, and while inexperienced, have found that my love of sailing, swimming, as well as my rotund figure truly point to my being an aquatic sea mammal. I used to feel that I would die sailing or on a soccer field, but since I no longer find time for either of these, I imagine I'll die surrounded by the comfort of the ocean depths. Hopefully not soon, but I find myself filling my quiet moments with images of the undersea world and desires to be diving. Life on dry land has simply become a series of inter-dive intervals. I had always dreamed of flying someday, but now I am more than content to be swimming with the turtles and fish. Even had my first encounter with a shark.

I love science fiction, science non-fiction, and find myself constantly wishing I could redo my youth with the wisdom I have now (not a great deal, but more than at the time). I absolutely love surgery and while it scares me every time I cut, I hope it is because I want the best outcome and take it very seriously.

I don't live in my mom's basement, but that is probably more luck than anything (not to mention that mom currently doesn't have a basement so it's not even an option at the moment) and am likely one of the more dull and mundane individuals on social media, but I am excited to live and learn through the incredible menagerie of people who are available on sites like steemit so that with whatever time left, I can continue to grow and share with those around me the experiences and knowledge of people much more accomplished and exciting than I.

dive light hanging.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies. Write less but write great original content, which is the key to success in Steemit. If you are using any image, cite proper source.
Also if you know someone who is not using his voting power, then forward them to @sanmi on Steemit chat to do some charity and earn curation. And he can also point you to many different ways to increase your rewards.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details.

Thank you for the wisdom. All pictures were taken by me with a GoPro while diving in the Gulf of Mexico with my family. I will endeavor to learn and do better.

Welcome to Steemit @drwillwho and Im looking forward for great underwater content from you!

Best regards from Berlin. Jonas

Thank you kindly. My adventures are those of a newbie, a minnow in the sea as well as on steemit... But I look forward to getting off the boat as often as life allows.

Hello, you are welcome to steemit!!! I give you upvote and a small amounth of love

u.gif

Nice post! Voted and followed :D

Thank you for your kindness. I appreciate your following and hope I say something worth reading... even if it's just accidental.

Welcome! I am looking forward to your posts.

I appreciate your kind welcome and hope that something I say will be worth the time reading.

Nice to meet you, @drwillwho! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for your warm welcome.

Very interesting. Good stuff.

Thank you for the kind words.

Welcome to the Steemit community!

Thank for the kindness. This seems like a neat community. It's been fun so far.

Hello! Your account was recently created so I thought I'd send my regards. One upvote from me and I'm waiting for many more posts in the future!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Congratulations @drwillwho! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65074.63
ETH 2635.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83