Hello Steemit!

I guess I should probably start using this service. Luke Stokes has been talking about it forever, and at some point in 2016 was able to influence me to create an account.

Now in 2018 after his very passionate talk at SunshinePHP, I decided to actually use the account. I've dabbled in crypto-currency stuff in the past but never took a very deep dive into it for various reasons, but Steemit seems like a good fit.

Since this is my first post, let me introduce myself. My name is Chris Tankersley.

8815789608_e69a07cbe6_o-sma-350.jpg

My tl;dr is that I am a father, husband, programmer, system architect, writer, speaker, and gamer.

I have been a professional programmer for about 12 or 13 years now at this point, primarily in PHP. I got started back in the early 90's programming BASIC on an old Tandy Color Computer III, writing programs out of magazines and books. From there I moved on to HTML and very basic Javascript in the mid-late 90's. My crowning achievement was a Final Fantasy VII fan website that was on one of the larger Final Fantasy web rings.

In high school I did a bit of perl before moving on to college where I learned C++, C#, VB.NET, RPG ILE, and COBOL. At that same time I started working at an ISP and one of my coworkers was a co-maintainer on a PHP project that was basically a PHP version of Slashdot. I found my favorite language at that point, and I've loved it ever since.

Since then the various jobs I've worked at have had me deal with golang, Python, C, more modern Javascript, and a few others. PHP, however, is the language that most speaks to me and the one I feel the most productive. Thanks to PHP I help maintain a static blog patform named Sculpin, am a Core Committee Member of the PHP-FIG standards group, have a library in a major framework, and have met a ton of great people.

In 2011 I had my first article published in php|architect magazine, based on a talk I had submitted to a conference. I have been writing off-and-on with them for seven years now, and currently have a monthly column with them on being a dev lead. I have also worked with them through their training platform, helping teach new developers PHP, Drupal, and secure programming.

Around 2014 I started speaking at PHP conferences. My first was Zendcon, and since then I have spoken around the country on a host of topics including Object Oriented Programming, Docker, security, best practices, and a whole host of other things. I most recently spoke at SunshinePHP where I talked about code optimizations and tools.

2016 saw my first actual book being released, "Docker for Developers". I had been following Docker for many years and had finally decided that it was a stable enough platform for me to write about and begin teaching. There is now a second edition of the book, a companion video series, and even a dead tree version through my friends at php|architect.

My good friend Gary Hockin and I co-host a video game podcast called Jerks Talk Games, a monthly podcast sometimes about a topic, sometimes about stuff we've been playing, and sometimes wrestling jokes. This has been one of my favorite projects to be involved in. Not only is Gary a great person to talk to, video games are one of my passions.

Maybe Steemit will revive my blogging. Or maybe I'll use this for my more non-technical things. Who knows?

If nothing else, thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Great to see you here, Chris! Thanks for coming to my unconference talk. :)

There are a lot of developers here, so hopefully you can connect with them, and we can start building out the PHP community here as well. We already have @adamculp, @crell, @uberbrady, and @snipe among others. Might as well get paid by the blockchain for the stuff we're talking about, right?

I resteemed your post to hopefully get you some new followers.

Thanks! I really enjoyed the uncon talk.

Luke's passion for this stuff was hard to ignore. Also, his delivery style for information (even in an informal settings like the Uncon) is great.

I wish the talks I give at conferences were half as engaging.

Wow, thanks Omni. :)

Makes me want to give more talks more often. I kind of took a break for a while, but I should get back into it. I think I want to start speaking at cryptocurrency conferences about STEEM.

Congratulations @dragonmantank! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit! This is a wonderul platform with great people and communities! I followed you and look forward to your posts! Be sure to check the other aspects of the steem blockchain as well; Steepshot, DTube, DLive, Zappl and DMania. Be active and have fun! Cheers @stwbll

DLive and DTube are something I'm very interested in. I've done some streaming on Twitch, and would love a more open platform.

I havent published anything either but I have watched tons of videos on DTube. It took me a couple months to figure out these other options existed, so I like to point them out up frimt to people.

Thats quite a few languages you know there ... Welcome to Steem. Upvoted and Followed :)

There's plenty of languages in there that I'd like to wish I didn't know, like RPG :P

Like, AS/400 RPG? Masochist! I dabbled in that in my very first corporate job after college. I had to take it off my resume because of the huge amount of recruiters looking for it (even if there were only a few actual positions that they were trying to fill). I don't regret not going down that path!

Yup, I did quite a bit of AS/400 programming in college and as an actual job. I didn't mind the AS/400 itself, but I hated we couldn't use the freeform version or Websphere. We were stuck in classic green-screen SEU.

Hallo Luke!

Interested to see what topics you'll cover here on Steemit. Welcome!

Hi, welcome to Steemit. Enjoy this great platform. See you again.

Nice to meet you, always nice to have people on Steemit with a skill set like yours!

I am very interested in level design and finding a programmer who is interested in making an application layer on Steemit to help level designers. If this interests you, let me know maybe we can talk about this idea. I'd also be happy to delegate you some SP to get you going on Steemit.

Good first post :D

Welcome @dragonmantank
Check out my page for daily poetry @Carleaf
I'm a newbie too

But, i have tell you
this place is amazing

welcome once again.

Welcome to steemit @dragonmantank trust me steemit is the best place to explore your skills and revive the needed ones.

Do enjoy your stay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98