Introducing @DBERSTORIES - Nothing But OC Fiction - 24/7

20180212_214131-1.jpg

Over the past few months, my primary blog has diversified substantially.

Originaly it was exclusively science content, specifically mycology and the study of similar organisms.

However, recently I have been a very regular poster of sci-fi short stories and vignettes. Between Steemit and /r/writingprompts, I get such a big dopamine boost out of producing that content that it has taken up a lot of my recent post history.

It's especially frequent compared to the mycology posts, which take quite a long time to research, photograph, and write - as well as requiring frequent post-facto editing and corrections.

The result, I think, is a confusion of my "brand" so to speak. Most of my followers are looking for science related content with a fungal or myxomycete focus, and I don't want to isolate them with a bunch of middling scifi stories.

So, I created the @dberstories account.

This account will be a repository of my story writing. No mushrooms, no substantive based science content

Just Stories.

Here's the plan for this account, in the spirit of transparency:

  1. Post stories I write.
  2. All story content will be OC, made by me, often adapted, or straight from, my /r/writingprompts account.
  3. Any non OC content, usually photos, will be properly cited with usage license or public domain status.
  4. I will probably create an SBD fueled votebuy but loop, at least to begin with. If the posts begin to make money organically, I won't do that anymore.

Perhaps most importantly, @DBER will ONLY feature fully fleshed out science posts on fungi and other lifeforms, along with the periodic steemstem meetup and pertinent resteems.


What can you expect if you follow this account? Sci-fi baby!

Let me be clear up front - this is not "literature" in the respected sense of the word. I am loathe to make any claims of literary, or other, quality.

Some of the stories have been enjoyed by hundreds of strangers on Reddit. Others languish in obscurity even that already obscure environment.

Most stories will be standalone, intended as an exercise mostly in quick character and stakes development in the hopes of piquing further interest in the fictional universe. However, most universes may never be explored again.

If a set of stories functions as a series, then they will usually share a title, and the prior parts will be highlighted and linked to at the top of the post. Otherwise you can assume that a story is self-contained. This may not mean it comes to a satisfactory conclusion, however I am open to strong suggestions that they ought to.

Writing these things is a fundamentally selfish act. I view the process as just another compulsive behavior to fill in the gap left by video games - albeit one that, I hope, I can get better at with time.

The goal is just to write and write consistently. There is no posting schedule, and no promises, just fairly consistent, hopefully easy to read, sometimes compelling, usually sci-fi stories.

To get a sense of what to expect, check out the 19 (plus a bunch that are not listed here) OC shorts I've previously posted on @Dber.



The final story related act by the @Dber account will be resteeming this introductory post. After that, you can expect mycologoly posts to start up again in earnest at the beginning of March when I return from vacation.

I hope to post things here that a couple of you enjoy reading. I anticipate that may be a long time coming and look forward to a bulk of spam comments - but that's all OK to!

Any and all responses are welcome.

Thanks


download.jpeg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The steemstem pin!!!

O have to catch-up with your stories man! Can you also recommend me your subjectively two BEST posts about mushrooms?

There are a ton :)

As for my two best posts about mushrooms - an interesting thought experiment for me.

I think my post about Pluteus cervinus was a water shed for me, insofar as it was the first time I identified a species specific microscopic trait before I knew what to look for.

But there are a lot of metrics by which to measure "best"... I need to give some thought as to a second one.

May you have a wonderful beginning on this blog and lots of success to come!! :)

Thanks @ruth-girl!

@dberstories fighting together with @lesmouth-travels :D

Fighting the good fight against primary content dilution!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83