Hello World

whynoplay2.jpg

I am a hermit, so any sort of social network is difficult for me. Be gentle. I am also older than the average participant in these newfangled things, so often feel out of place. Please be gentle.

So, why am I subjecting myself to steemit? (Or, perhaps, why am I subjecting steemit to me?) I am currently researching blockchains and their applications, so it seemed sensible to participate in one.

This is not the only blockchain I am participating in. I own a very little bit of Bitcoin. The ~$10 of Bitcoin I had sitting around at the start of the year is worth around $90 now. So, I bought another $100 of Bitcoin a few days ago. I'm also planning to invest in some Ethereum. Just small amounts and slowly so that I don't lose anything I can't afford.

From the past couple of months of research, I believe that blockchain is quietly building up to a revolution in how computer networks are organised. I believe that this is the tip of an evolving iceberg and I'm about to be a part of the next paradigm shift. I was an early adopter of the Internet, having my first email address through a university in 1994. I watched that revolution as consumer more than prosumer. I'll have a go at prosuming this time.

I'm also teaching myself programming. I've done a bunch of MOOC courses as well as a Graduate Certificate in Information Technology from a bricks and mortar university. I have dabbled in C, C#, C++, Java, Python and web programming (html, css, javascript and some frameworks). I'm working my way, in fits and starts and restarts through freeCodeCamp, which looks like the most likely venue to eventually get me doing something solid, rather than endlessly fiddling with courses.

I am also teaching myself a side order of maths with Khan Academy. This, I guess, is my version of someone else doing a crossword puzzle. It's recreational. Take a problem, apply a system of rules to find a solution (which is not always as straight-forward as it sounds: you first need to identify which rules could apply). Satisfaction. Take the next problem.

Which brings me back to what I am intending to do on steemit. I figured that some of this might be of interest to others; either steps I've taken to work my way through a programming problem, or just the motivational side of a 50 year old woman taking up programming and math and, although not being in any danger of blinding anyone with brilliance, at least moving along at my tortoise's pace and gaining something like a sense of fulfilment along the way.

So, hello steemit. Please be gentle.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @beachhermit I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Howdy! This seems like a brand new account so I wanted to make this post. You get an upvote and see you in your next post!
As you are new to steemit, getting those big upvotes are gonna be hard so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @beachhermit. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beachhermit to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

wellcome bro in steemit community time to make money

Hello dear, welcome. Hope you succeed. I'll follow your page. Hope you can follow me

© copyright - all rights reserved by @tinashe

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

JOIN BITCONNECT NOW AND CHANGE YOUR LIFE

bitconnect1.png
👉 CLICK HERE TO JOIN MY TEAM

GUY QUITS HIS JOB BECAUSE OF BITCONNECT

Thank you


CLICK👆 HERE

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86