Don’t like (Social Media) yet Steemit might be worth it!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Omar Lahmar (37)
Father of 2 amazing kids, proud husband, Apple IT ninja by day and wedding & street photographer in my spare time. Am an evangelical Christian, though I would never push my personal faith upon others, you may ask me about it if you like.

I Love studying life and personal growth. Also, photography and UNIX/OpenSource.
My take on life in general is: “Best enjoyed when studied!”

Recently my colleague and friend @s3rg3 told me passionately about Steemit.
After my initial reservation, I decided to do some research. My slight hesitation was because I’m no fan of social media, because of the emptiness of the content and meaningless likes. Moreover, the endless timelines full of miscellaneous stuff people tend to dump.

So, what about Steemit? I came to realise that the potential promise this platform holds could be incredible!
One of my favourite mentors is the legendary (Jim Rohn) which said:
"You don't get paid for the hour. You get paid for the value you bring to the hour."
In this conviction, I believe Steemit can do very well, because of it's greatest resource
It’s community. It is like a self-cleansing mechanism; the people have the power to curate and reward content of value.

I hope to share some valuable life experiences along some inspiring photography and meet the Steemit community. You are welcome to read my posts, ask questions and have a good discussion.

ApprenticeOfLife1.jpg

ApprenticeOfLife2.jpg

ApprenticeOfLife3.jpg

Sort:  

Omar,

Welcome to SteemIt!

I was not a fan of social media either, but SteemIt changed that!

You are now part of a sharing and caring community who share many goals in common no matter where they are in the world.

Have a great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Tnx etcmike nice avatar you have! :)

Omar! Welcome to Steemit! Welcome Home ;-)!

Thank you! Hope to interact with you guys!

Thank's my friend!

Welcome to steemit!!

Merci!

He Omar, nice introduction! Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks allot exyle!

Steemit fixes the problem that I have with a lot of other social media, why should I contribute to a platform where I make content and profits for the owners but get no share of my own? Here I get rewarded for the content I create. It is a fair system. Other social media just isnt fair.

Fairness is the main reason I am on Steemit. It just feels better than all those other social media

That's a good take on it justtryme90!

Welcome to Steemit. I think you'll enjoy your stay here. Also because I know you I for a fact know you will bring value to the community. Cheers m8!

Nice olympus camera :D

Enjoy your time here

I hope to share some more photography. I am a Nikon Professional User. But for my street work I use Olympus camera's, there small, fast and silent, can't beat that!

Welcome to Steemit @apprenticeoflife :)

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/

Steem is very good , I took my first amount mane out of here :) to feel how real it is... :) and it is good :) now I can make more photography here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65803.15
ETH 2665.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86