Another piece of hay in the stack

Greetings to all Steemians who happen to stumble onto my little introduction post. I have no silly aspirations of gathering a mass of followers and filling my storage tanks with STEEM. I was drawn here by my interest in science and computers; the idea of a social network encouraging original content using a blockchain structure is very intriguing. I'm not much for social media, as I have no Facebook, Twitter, etc. Researching cryptocurrencies out of educational curiosity I happened upon Steemit and decided 'why not join the community'. So if you're here, reading this, thanks for your interest. I'll use this time you've given to share a little about myself.

Alaska raised, Washington born

I spent most of my formative years in Alaska. I met my wife here, my children were born here, yet the roots of my heart are strongly planted in Washington state. But just because this isn't my favorite place to live (for many reasons) that doesn't mean I don't enjoy the wonders on offer here. Granted, get it while you can, because the winters are long and the summers likely rainy. I did a lot of backpacking, back country snow boarding, and even some white water rafting back in my younger days, but now I keep it mostly to day hikes; having children can change what you're able to do. I've done a small amount of hunting as well, but decided I don't really crave it like many dedicated Alaskans. Of course, these are all things you can do when the Last Frontier's famous summer sun stretches through nearly all the day's hours. The real truth of living in Alaska are the long, cold, dark winters. It comes every year sooner than you wish.


Ohh all the things to do, see, and learn


It's daunting to try and list all my interests and hobbies. Whatever captures my imagination or stimulates my brain to learn more about our universe can grab my enthusiasm. I enjoy studying physics and astronomy. I am fascinated by puzzles and mechanical contraptions. I enjoy music and have played the guitar and didgeridoo. I enjoy maritime history and the age of exploration.
When it comes to books, I feel a kindred spirit in Robert Louis Stevenson when he said “I kept always two books in my pocket, one to read, one to write in.” And its always fun to search for a Geocache while getting outdoors, even planning a 7 mile hike just to be the first-to-find. Of course, I cannot finish this section without mentioning soccer. I didn't grow up a big fan of sports, but in my adult years I've grown to love the beautiful game. As my username would suggest, I am a dedicated follower of the Seattle Sounders. I'm constantly reading (and a frequent commenter on) my favorite sports blog: Sounder at Heart.

The blank canvas of Steemit that lies before me


The biggest thing I've gathered when learning about Steemit is the vision to encourage original content. I've got several ideas: my posts could range anywhere among my many interests, bloggish in nature, but my main plan is for original fiction. There may be some photography sprinkled here and there, as I've done it for years and even professionally on a few occasions. Some other art ideas are in the hopper that would exclusively be shared on Steemit when they come to fruition. Whatever way it may go, the path ahead is a new one for me.

Oh, and one last thing. I have a pretty cool job too.
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit of you! Glad to have you on Steemit. Continue doing good post.
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steem Community @aksounder! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem @aksounder I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks bot, much appreciated!

Nice, welcome man. Are you a firefighter at an airport or an air force facility?

Thanks for the welcome! I am an Aircraft Rescue Firefighter, but will refrain from any specifics related to my department to avoid the potential of violating policy regarding posts on social media. That's a fine line these days... but with such an awesome job and it being a big part of who I am, I'll enjoy sharing what I can.

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Thanks for the welcome and kind wishes! I noticed all the soccer (football) content you post, but with English being my only language I'm afraid I don't understand it. Haha.

there are some pretty intense science writers here, there is also a new STEM project I believe... gl / peace

@clumsysilverdad could you recommend some good places to read? As a new user I've yet to follow anyone.

@cjrc97 i know and check out tags on the right hand column... like science, and you can look under "hot" for popular pieces / peace

Thanks. I'm interested in your content as well, I'll have to shuffle through your archives. :)

Congratulations @aksounder! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Keep it up! I saw that you joined recently so welcome to the great community of steemit. Here's your upvote and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Welcome to steemit, we need more fiction writers because I love to read. So start writing. That's not an order, but there are a lot of people on here that do write. I just finished "The house at the end of street - Chapter 15 - Original fiction" by @giantbear, (well chapters 1-15 that's all they have so far), and I did enjoy the read. If you want some Lucid reading try some of @greenrun 's stories. Look at the fiction tag and or writing, and you will find more people.

Great! I'll check those authors out. Thanks for the reply and the welcome. I wanted to make a couple photography posts to dip my feet in the waters of steemit. Then I've been on vacation for a week, but now am ready to start organizing the fiction I'll be posting. Keep your eyes peeled, something should be coming soon!

I will be keeping my eyes peeled. I started a little steemitmag on my blog, profiling some of the Authors I have run across, you are welcome to drop a comment there when you start posting your stories. I don't have many views on my steemitmag, but I do hope with time I am able to reach more Authors and readers. I started it as a selfish thing really, because I like to read.

Your "little" steemitmag looks outstanding! Great work and such a good resource for those looking for new reads. I'd be flattered to eventually be featured. I'm waiting to board a flight out of Seattle where I hope to get some work done; it has been a little difficult to get the steem rolling while on vacation, but once I'm back in the roll of normal life my keyboard will be begging for mercy; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65847.68
ETH 2679.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.08