I'm Reintroducing Myself - And My Exile Into Retirement Overseas. Crypto helped make that possible.

Evening at the beach.JPG

Hi - It's Me!

I first joined Steemit nearly 1 month ago and I wrote my introduction, just like I was supposed to do. I've since learned that the problem with a very early introduction is that it doesn't have much reach. So, I have been advised by another Steemian that I should attempt another go at it. Did I mention I Love Steemit?

I am an American living abroad… Retired in Samar (to be exact) in the Philippines. Here, I will spare all the details about my early life in general but if you insist on knowing, you can read about it in my original introduction post HERE.

I spent over 25 years in the business of Meteorology and Oceanography. I then spent almost 13 years in my follow-on career of real estate, where I learned to blog. Over the years, I've lived in varied places across the U.S, in Guam and in the Philippines where I met my wonderful wife. I'm well traveled in the U.S. and other parts of the world.

We Made Our Escape

Since retiring, we built a retirement home in the Philippines (where we have spent the last 4 years) and then returned to live on the island of Guam (also in the Western Pacific), "Where America’s Day Begins." We are fortunate that we are able to enjoy our retirement, traveling back and forth between locations, enjoying the best that these two distinct tropical worlds have to offer.

Tomaligues.JPG
Coastal fishing village where we spend our time.

Since leaving real estate, my blog focus has shifted to that of living the retired life in the Western Pacific (and all that leading up to it). I enjoy providing my readers and followers with with a straight-forward and sometimes humorous perspective of a retirement lifestyle in this part of the world through my blog titled "Retired in Samar."

I also document my "One Day at a Time" adventures on my YouTube channel, also aptly titled "Retired in Samar." As a blogger/vlogger, I enjoy documenting the natural beauty that our chosen paradise offers. And, like many of you, I have recently discovered the Steemit blogging platform and look forward to sharing my thoughts and comments with this community also.

So, I invite you to join me in life's adventures through the retired life - from the jungles to the beaches to mountain tops. Ahhh, life in the tropics - It doesn’t get much better than this (but you better have an air conditioner!).

Thanks for visiting me as I remain, "Retired in Samar - Living On Guam... One Day at a Time!"

Paradise Sands.JPG
Our village as seen from the sand bar.

Follow me here @retiredinsamar and on my blog Retired in Samar, on facebook or on YouTube.

Sort:  

Re-Welcome to Steemit!
It does look like you've found yourself a piece of Paradise there!

I had to write it in the sand to make it more believable!

Hello @retiredinsamar ! I'm glad to welcome you on SteemIt!
I follow to you and UpVote to you!
I wish you happiness!

Nice, well done on the brave retirement mood... "this is my island in the sun!!!"

Good post, I like it- you did well kimosabe :)

Nice "re-introduction" and welcome to steemit (again)!
Thanks for stopping by in my blog (I'm the donut junkie, haha!), like that I found yours :-)
Happy steeming 😉

Thanks for the beautiful upvote! ;)

Hi! Your life sounds lovely and inspiring, and I get the sense that you have been very active in making your dreams come true for yourself. I am happy to follow you and glean what wisdom I can. Also, please check out my post from today called The Next Human: Cyborg or Quantum Magician if you are interested.

Thanks for the follow and upvote!

Sounds like you are having a blast. welcome to steemit and great to meet you. Peace and love and full on steem ahead.

Hi RIS,

just wondering from the title, how did Crypto make it possible? Are you able to live sufficiently from your blogging income? Im very interested! :D

Nah, blogging is peanuts. I have a retirement income and crypto profits help with the lifestyle.

what a gorgeous place to retire!

Very good)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48