Hello Steem! Allow me to introduce myself...

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

After much prodding by @unrared, I have been thrust into Steem in an effort to diversify my social media intake and contribute to something positive and growing.

My name is Joel Ward, or Klondike Joel to a good chunk of Northwest Washington. I was born just outside of Portland, Oregon, raised in Juneau, Alaska (hence the nickname), but came into my own in the heart of Seattle, WA at the ripe age of 17. I have been happy to call Whatcom and Skagit Counties home for the last 12 years.

I am an avid reader, lover of comics, musician, vinyl fanatic, and gamer.

My favorite books include stereotypical ones like "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" and the Harry Potter series, anything Scott Snyder, Chris Claremont, and Geoff Johns have done pretty much ever, and abstract collections like "Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs" and Springsteen's "Born to Run". My music tastes run the gamut of the 80s & 90s So-Cal punk scene, alt-rock like Jimmy Eat World, classic hip-hop and backpack rappers, and of course the aforementioned Boss. Lately I've been playing a lot of ARK: Survival Evolved, RimWorld, and PUBG, but I've put unknown hours into Starbound and Marvel Heroes Omega since their individual inceptions.

I have a super rad wife from Philly, which makes for some good times (that east-meets-west cultural divide is a truth). We have 3 fur babies, and I'm sure you'll see plenty of posts about regarding their shenanigans. Two older dogs, Chopper and Dutch, and a rawkus of a cat named Tifa that just turned 2 and is always up to something.

Once upon a time @unrared and I had a punk band that developed a little bit of a cult following in our area, releasing some tunes and causing a bunch of chaos. While we hung up the hat on that project, making music is still very much a part of my life I hope to revisit again, soon.

Professionally, I work in various aspects of IT, from platform/software support to hardware solutions, but I secretly hope to open a pub, one of these days, to cater to our burgeoning nerd culture scene.

This is an obvious cliff-notes version of my interests, but please, feel free to follow me on Instagram and Twitter @ klondikejoel, or check out my website for tidbits, pictures, and other highlights @ www.klondikejoel.com.

Cheers!
-Joel

Sort:  

Welcome! Joining Steemit will change your life. Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Welcome to steemit :D

Have a great time.

Welcome to Steem @klondikejoel I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to the family @klondikejoel

A new Steemian :-) hello @klondikejoel I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Just Joined too happy to see I'm not the only one!

Congratulations @klondikejoel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit Joel. I hope you are going to enjoy this platform and will be able to contribute positively. Below mentioned website will help you get through this initial phase:

https://www.steemithelp.net/

In case you got any questions, feel free to ask. Let's connect, Following your blog. :)

Fellow Marvel Heroes Omegan :) I entered my 4th year of playing that game, I call it forever Beta. Welcome to steemit btw!

Sorry it died a terrible death. :(

Welcome, @klondikejoel, I hope you enjoy it here!

I’ll follow you if you’ll follow me; that being said, following is overplayed. Really, don’t you want to follow someone who shares your interests, rather than getting feeds which matter nothing to you.

Here’s what I do, I decided to just follow pretty much anyone; then I don’t offend anyone. Rather than read off my feed, I just select the topics I want and go from there.

One of my favorite topics is the Introducingyourself; here we are all equally vulnerable before being re-shapped by the Steemit world. Steemit is more than blogging, it is preview of a future which is already upon us.

If you want to check out some faucets, check my posts; BEWARE:

IF IT IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, THEN IT’S NOT TRUE!

Later,
carltong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28