Nevies Presents: An Interview: Meet @rondonson, Steemit Witness and Hip Hop Artist!

in #interview6 years ago

Hello friends! Today I'm gonna be putting on the character of my alter ego who is called The Friendly Neighborhood Gangster, a super hero who's always ready to offer help and says all his jokes using gangster expressions and stuff like that. He's also in love with rap and gangster lifestyle but always and ever very friendly and not hostile in any way 😀. Doesn't even carry a gun.

So hello there, it's your Friendly Neighborhood Gangster, how you doing yo?

I'll like it to be noted that this alter ego is only used for laughing and joking but not for lifestyle purposes
Today, though, there won't be a lot of joking, today I'm presenting an interview I had with @rondonson a steemit witness and Hip Hop artist where I got him talking a little about Hip Hop on the blockchain, MUSE and the near future.

So without further ado,
Ladies and gentlemen, meet @rondonson "the gawd", the Hip Hop psychonaut, sound engineer, lover of psychedelics, steemit witness, first president of the @adsactly record label (@adsactlyrecords), famous host of the rapchallenge, Good guy!

image

image

The Interview Proper

Nevies:
What is Your Real Name?

Rondonson:

Ron Donson

Nevies:
Straight like that, where are you from?

Bronx New York

Nevies:
Where are you based, currently?

Rondonson:

Bridgeport Connecticut

Nevies:
OK, cool. I understand you're into a lot, so mind telling us your occupations?

Rondonson:

I’m a musician, a crypto currency enthusiast and also spiritualist

Nevies:
Do tell a little about your spiritual side

Rondonson:

I’m an open minded guy when it comes to spirituality. Practice some astrology some core Christian beliefs and some esoteric belief systems as well. Let’s just say when it comes to my spirituality I’m continually gaining newer levels of understanding. I’m also very much into spirit medicine such as DMT and ayahausca.

Nevies:
Wow, sounds like great stuff!

Since when have you been rapping?

Rondonson:

Since I was 19 I’m 35 now, but i took a break from it from about the age of 23 til i was 30.

Nevies:
Wow! And when did you go professional like you are now, when did you start releasing in them studios?

Rondonson:
5 years ago, when I was 30

Nevies:
What/who inspired you to become a rapper?

Rondonson:

It’s hard to say. But I always grew up loving Eminem, big pun, jadakiss, jayz, and Nas. Those guys are the people I kind of tried to mimick after before I gained my own style.

Nevies:
Have you got any role model in the industry?

Rondonson:

Will Smith

Nevies:
Wow, that's kinda surprising. Why dyou look up to him?

Rondonson:

Because he has achieved great things and continues to show

He’s a motivating figure to me

Nevies:
Cool. I've always loved Will Smith too!

What made you start promoting Hip Hop on the blockchain?

Rondonson:

I’m an artist and a geek. There’s just a symbiosis there that is evident. I am a witness and a rapper..it just made sense

Nevies:
OK, you've been making music for the blockchain, you also have music that are blockchain-themed right?

Rondonson:

No

Not yet anyway

Not even sure how to approach blockchain themed music

What am I supposed to rap about? Bitcoins and algorithms? Lol, it’s a work in progress

Nevies:
LOL. So no music with crypto terms in em too?

Rondonson:

I mention stuff about crypto In some of my freestyles already

You’ll hear me mention things or maybe use a metaphor

Nevies:
OK, that's cool stuff

I find that you are really interested in giving Hip Hop some steem and giving steem some Hip Hop, from the Rap Challenge you've been hosting for months now and the Music you've been making for the Blockchain, and I understand that there are other artists on here like @sirlunchthehost, @antminer, etc. So what would you say about the Hip Hop scene on steemit?

Rondonson:

I would say the hip hop scene on steemit is great but it needs some more structure

I really have been the only person to consistently try to structurize hip hop on steemit

Nevies:
Say more about what you mean by structure, bro?

Rondonson:

More challenges more people involved. That steemit open mic gets real sponsorship from a steemit member. People upvote it very well. I struggle with the rap challenge, I dont have real sponsorship and for running the challenge I barely make anything.

Nevies:
Yeah, I agree with you. I accept you're making a lot of effort, and that's probably why I'm hanging out with you on the interview. What is your vision for the Hip Hop scene on Steemit, what's your ideal status quo? Where dyou think it should be?

Rondonson:

I think there should be real sponsorship for the challenge so we can attract more rappers. We have a lot of rappers who rap in other languages, I'd like to expand it to other languages but I don’t have the support from the community as a whole. It’s sad really..

Almost a year of running it and I’ve given away and made more money for people than I’ve actually made and I still don’t have real sponsorship or upvotes

I want to do a big rap challenge tournament also but like I said. No sponsorship

Nevies:
I'd really like that for the challenge too, I think the challenge is like the biggest and most relevant hub of the steemit Hip Hop scene.

Now, about Witnessing, you recently declared interest to become a witness for MUSE. Can you tell us about MUSE?

Rondonson:

It’s a graphene blockchain that is specially tailored for musicians to publish their music directly to listeners and to earn MUSE from streaming

It costs nothing for the listener to listen but at the same time creates a connection and financial service for the artist

It’s going to be great

Nevies:
Wow, sounds really cool. A lot of us don't know about this yet. When is it's release date?

Rondonson:

Not a set date yet but sometime this spring

Nevies:
I understand you're a lover of the blockchain, you make music for the blockchain and you'll surely be taking your music to MUSE too, what more should we expect from you? What are your future plans?

For the blockchain and in Hip Hop in general

Rondonson:

Just more music bro

We had come to the end of the interview and it was time for a little silly game where I gave numbers, from 1 to 6, each number represented an emoji and any number you pick you would have to make your face like that emoji in a selfie.

Ron picked 4

And here are them emojis

image

So I present to you anew, Emoji-Ron:

image

LOL. Thanks so much, Ron! Shout outs?

Rondonson:

Shout out:
Lol, shout out to @adsactly, @teamsteem and @sirlunchthehost

image

Thanks so much for reading, Ladies and Gents, I love you all! Vote @rondonson for witness here and now on steemit, and on MUSE in the future. Also support the rapchallenge!

Bye! Until next time!

Your Friendly Neighborhood Gangster 😉

image

Sort:  

Congratulations @nevies! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

What an amazing interview from my senior gangster nigga @nevies .....your gangsterism has surpassed mine. It was a nice effort you made all together bro...more grease to your elbows fam😉😉

Lol. Thanks, man.

Doesn't even carry a gun.

This line killed me

This is a very nice Interview @nevies and I love the way @rondonson made it lively.

When it comes to support, It takes little steps to show people that you are serious and over time more support will come

@ogochukwu

Thanks so much, man. Hopefully we'll get the support we need, Ron has been on this challenge for close to a year now

Great interview here bro but just know that I like you to know that I won't fear you anymore, I don't fear gangsters that are afraid of carrying common gun.

LMAO, I'm a friendly gangster, man, I'm a super hero, I'm against violence.

Man, you have upgraded o..... Thumbs up bro
Quite an In interview, who knows...
Interview might turn into good fortune for yaa.
Well-done bro, you are going higher

Hehehe, thanks a lot, bruv

That was a drilling session mheeen...
I followed the fun to the end.

Well, @nevies I think it will even be nice to Christine you #steemit journalist, but you've chosen to be a gangster.

It's all good.

Lol. It all goes. Thanks, man.

How you managed to drop your alter ego is still amazing. Great interview man. I never knew there was a hip-hop community on here. 👍

Lol. Thanks bro. Dyou love Hip Hop though?

Not like a die hard like... Once in a while I listen to some J. Cole jamz

Cool. Cole's great. Go get yourself a lot more, man 😎

I've always had a thing for Will Smith. No, not like that kind of thing. I mean he's cool for me too

Lol. That's some shit, man, that's why you have Will in your name?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77