SELF-LOVE

in #inspiration6 years ago

Many people preach the gospel of self -love but how many people really love themselves like they preach?

images (18).jpeg
source

Self - love entails that you love yourself enough not to hurt yourself. I’d be discussing health in this article.

Staying healthy according to WHO definition includes being stable physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Many people pay attention to their physical health neglecting their mental and emotional health. Some pay attention to their spiritual health neglecting their mental, emotional, and physical health. This is not too good.

It’s very good to trust God for healing either as a Christian, Muslim, or a traditionalist as the case may be, but let the right things be done. There are people who have died that would have survived if they had sort medical help instead of relying solely that miracles should happen. Years back a friend shared her experience with me. She is from a very religious home where everything is tackled by prayers. She was sick the previous night and she prayed before she slept. The next morning, in the family devotion they held daily, she told told her dad that she was weak and wanted to faint. His response was that she was lazy with prayers. In minutes, she was on the ground with her eyes shut. That was the end of devotion for that day. She had to be rushed to the hospital where she was diagnosed of acute Malaria and typhoid. If she had continued managing her body without seeking medical help, she might just have lost her life at 22.

Part of staying healthy includes staying away from things and people that cause you to be emotionally and mentally unstable. I got tensed up when I was to write my final examination in the university, it was my last and I had to put in my best not considering what I did. My friend introduced me to a drug that will help me stay up at night to read and help me remember and write all I have read for my exams. I took it the first time, I felt normal. I repeated it again, it was nice on me. I tried it the third time and that was the last I’d ever try. I was unstable for hours, I began laughing at things that weren’t funny. I was in my own world. I could not sleep, I could feel my brain working, it was so bad that I can’t find accurate words to describe it. I prayed to God to restore me mentally, I eventually got to sleep later on and was normal the next day. I would not see any need to stay away from that drug if my mental state was not important to me. I see youths on the street who have lost their minds because they abused one drug or the other.

This goes out to ladies: never compare yourself with anyone. We all did not grow up in the same environment. We don’t have equal opportunities open to us because of our financial background. Your friend can afford to live in luxury because her parents can afford it while your parents can’t. Don’t go out of your way to do to live a life you can’t afford just because you see someone living like that. Prostitution isn’t the only job that put one’s life at risk. Taking up too many decent jobs than body can allow can allow you break down.

Note, wholeness and wellness begins with you. Don’t let anyone talk you out of being yourself. Be confident in yourself, in your abilities and never stop being optimistic. That is the summary of self-love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90