The Inkpot Interview With @michelle.gent

in #inkpot7 years ago

U5ds_Yn_KNx_Fd_NSv_Xkvn_Gb4w1uk8_YUyff_1680x8400


She is someone who I have been following for a long time here on steemit, @michelle.gent never fails to deliver a good story

She is currently writing a series here on Steemit called Cruel and Unusual, you can view it on her blog, below is the first part of her interview


Ogochukwu: What is your name and where do you come from?

Michelle: I use my real name on steemit – Michelle Gent – and I live in Nottinghamshire in the UK (Robin Hood County).


Ogochukwu: How did you learn about Steemit

Michelle: Mark Morris Jr shared a link on Facebook and I took a look… the rest, as they say, is history.


Ogochukwu: Does writing energize or exhaust you?

Michelle: While I’m writing, it seems like I don’t have to stop to take breaks, eat, drink… I suppose I’m energised while I’m writing… afterwards, though…


Ogochukwu: Does a big ego help or hurt writers?

Michelle: I think it can hurt a writer’s quality. Some writers I’ve met actually believe their writing is perfect and needs no re-read, no editing, no proofreading. Usually, they’re wrong.


Ogochukwu: What is your writing Kryptonite?

Michelle: First-person perspective.


Ogochukwu: Have you ever gotten reader’s block?

Michelle: Oh I can always find something to read


Ogochukwu: Do you ever consider writing under a pseudonym?

Michelle: Yes.


Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

I deliver what I want. I’m a writer, not an employee.


Ogochukwu: Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

Michelle: Oh anyone can be a writer, it just depends upon what they want to write.


Ogochukwu: What other authors are you friends with on steemit/outside steemit, and how do they help you become a better writer?

Michelle: There’s a whole community of writers out there, I have friends in real-life and online that are writers and the encouragement, feedback and sometimes critique helps enormously.


Ogochukwu: What does literary success look like to you?

Michelle: It looks very much like my steemit account right now. People reading my stories, engaging and commenting, and enjoying my work.


Ogochukwu: Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

Michelle: Erm… no.


Ogochukwu: Have you read anything that made you think differently about creative writing?

Yes, I once read a review on my first novel and it made me think about giving up. I didn’t even look at my book for a year.


What one thing would you give up to become a better writer?

I’d love to be able to give up this crippling self-doubt.


The second part of this interview will be posted on Wednesday

Thanks for reading

Follow @ogochukwu

Literature Trail Curator

Sort:  

Interesting to read an interview about the process of writing with a writer. Interesting to read different perspectives. I certainly know the devastation that a crap review can cause. My first book of poetry got some really snotty reviews and it took me over 6 years before I could publish another book. It was shattering.

I wish critics would think before they sharpen their pens!

The review I received wasn't a review per se - it was more of a professional editor's report. I've had bad reviews and I can shrug and think 'Each to his own' because it's clear the reader didn't like my style, story, plot or whatever.
I agree that sometimes, the person behind the pen (or keyboard) seems to just be venting his/her spleen and it's just nasty. There's never any need for that.

I started a book review site where there was no 'author-bashing', just constructive criticism. I think that's a better way to go.

Good Luck with your poetry :)

Thank you for the interview :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87