You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Gentleman's Guide to Forum Spies: Annotated w/ Examples

in #informationwar7 years ago (edited)

A superb idea, but rather than a post, it's a career!

I have from time to time managed to encounter disinfo agents, even here on Steemit. Our little platform isn't exempt from social controls.

While I don't think inviting folks to drop examples in the comments is inappropriate, depending on folks to might prove unreasonable. My experience shows that depending on others for necessities is certain to invariably produce shortage of necessities.

This is certainly a topic that can potentially educate people that haven't given much thought to the value of their voice that is being used for the nefarious purposes of others, and profitably. Plenty of folks won't like learning they've been used, especially not against themselves, and what they believe in.

Thanks!

Edit: I have just run across comments by @stegep99 on a post by @lucylin that exemplify various of the techniques you refer to and requested examples of.

I didn't tot them all up, but several different tactics are shown, and some repeatedly. I suspect a professional, just from the relentless delivery of tactical communications.

Sort:  

Good points. Part of coming to terms with the media landscape these days is however realizing that one has been misled in the past. I know I certainly have been. Maybe I still am being misled in some regards, but I am at least awake to the fact that disinformation is often intentional and am therefore actively seeking to limit its impact.

I am not entirely depending on others, but contributions would be helpful. I am taking my own advice and compiling examples as I come across them. Sometimes it won't be possible to prove a demonstrable truth, but I think being able to observe the exercise of the tactic itself would be beneficial in many cases. That is why, under the submission guidelines, I make it clear to provide such proof if necessary/possible.

Thanks for your response!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61968.29
ETH 2501.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66