Poloniex currently dealing with a DDoS attack which began approx. 2 hours ago (NT)

in #information7 years ago

(NT) = No Text

Which typically means all pertinent information is in the title just in case you didn't know.

Declining payout on this.

Follow Poloniex on Twitter to get the latest info. https://twitter.com/poloniex

Sort:  

Oh dear, i hope everything ends up ok with them.

me too! I signed in just to see if my tiny bit of STEEM & BTC increased in value. Hopefully they're up and running again soon.

I am sure they will be. They must have controls for this kind of thing

Thank you for the info @merej99! I hope they will handle it!

Wow! great to know this.

Which exchange site do you recommend?

Honestly I'm not recommending anything for trading yet, I don't do much of that myself, but I can tell you from the little experience I have with Poloniex that they are bad news.

One thing that kept me away from them was their daily limits. I did not like that idea. But, other than that I don't know much.

I guess they have those to avoid having to report anything, for taxes, you see a lot of crypto debit cards with a similar system so they don't have to do as much documentation. I don't like this either, specially because if the government wants to mess with you they will find a way.

Ok I see. I did not know that. Thank you for sharing this information.

If you don't mind me asking, where do you keep your wallet and what exchanges do you use then?

I'm experimenting with different things like sending money orders and using giftcards when I wish to purchase something. I'll probably try changelly next because I hear good things about their conversion. I use several wallets, from paper wallets to online wallets like Jaxx. But honestly I don't recommend any third parties, the more control over your funds you have the better.

The problem with poloniex is that you don't really have control over their wallets and just recently I realized how much of a problem that is. We don't have a problem until something bad happens to us. I'll be researching for other alternatives, hopefully I can find a decentralized exchange soon.

Pardon my ignorance, but what does this mean? Could you kindly explain it in laymen terms.

I'm still learning all the terminology @tamim, but here is a good article explaining what a DDoS attack is: http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/D/DDoS_attack.html

Thank you for that link! :)

Seems to be working now, but there's a "browser security check" on the front end...

I noticed that earlier. Got as far is the initial sign in page but timed out before I could enter my 2FA so I'm just sitting tight until I see an update on Twitter.

Markets have been crazy these past few days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80