How He Tackles Strong Criticism With Ease

in #india5 years ago (edited)

Earlier this month, Mr. Victor Sjodin visited India on an official tour. Victor Sjodin, whom I fondly call as Vic, is the Vice President of a USA based non-profit Vegan Outreach. He contacted me and told that though he is on a very short visit, he will like to meet me.

I was very happy to learn that he is coming to my city. This brought back memories of his earlier visit. It was a couple of years back when he first visited India. Then he was on a crusade to conduct vegan outreaches in 8 major cities of India. He came loaded with about 100,000 Vegan Outreach booklets especially prepared and printed for Indian audience. Vic is a very prolific leafleter. In fact, in his first meeting with activists, he conduct a short training session on the art of leafleting. There is a lot of things to learn from that short session.

So my city Udaipur was also chosen for his visit in that campaign named "Compassion Crusaide) which was jointly organised by FIAPO (Federation of Indian Animal Protection Organisations). But I wasn't satisfied with the matter and presentation of their booklets that he was distributing all across India. In fact, that booklet was quite objectionable to my ideology.

If you regularly read my posts, you are aware that at times, I can criticize badly. Similar thing happened when I first met Vic. It was a beautiful morning and he wanted to give a kick start to vegan outreach campaign in my city. But when I met him along with a few other local activists, I strongly protested the Vegan Outreach leaflets and clearly stated that these leaflets can't be distributed in my city at the least. He was somewhat shocked but maintained his cool demeanor.

For the next 15 minutes, I dissected whole of the booklet page by page and let him know the grounds of my displeasure. When I asked him to justify VO's (Vegan Outreach's) stance; he very politely replied that he agree to whatever I said and blamed his Graphic Designer for all the mistakes. At that time, he was Director (Marketing), so I wasn't ready to accept the fault of an employee who was working under him. But any way, we decided to not to distribute those booklets in our city. In fact, I told him to burn all those stock.

I had already arranged other booklets from FIAPO as a substitute which we agreed to distribute instead. After a successful campaign Vic left Udaipur and I forgot about that incident. But now when he contacted me, the very first thing he conveyed me that they have prepared a new booklet and have burnt all those earlier ones. He wanted me to see the new booklets to get my comments. I was surprised to know that he still remember everything and started the communication from where we left two and a half years back! This time the person who prepared the booklet too accompanied him to my city ...LOL, it was just a coincidence though!

Well, the point I wanted to make was that he never got angry with me. In fact, our bonding get stronger and stronger. He also arranged a grant for me to publish my own booklets which I used during my 1000 miles padyatra (march on foot) a couple of years back. That grant was from The Pollination Project and he backed me strongly when the grant committee was having some doubts over my unique padyatra project.

44025052_10156696653948703_7124201655628726272_n.jpg

Vic and me, when we met this month

He visited my city and invited me over dinner. I can see how excited was he to see me. On seeing me, he lifted me up in his arms and hold me there for a couple of minutes. He considers me his brother now. This is how relationship develops when you know how to take criticism in a right and meaningful way.

I was just recollecting how things move ahead starting from strong criticism and displeasure to strong bond and unconditional love.

Does something like this ever happened in your life?
What did you learn from it?

I'd like to read your similar experiences too 😊

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xyzashu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @xyzashu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.974 which ranks you at #3785 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3791).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 230 contributions, your post is ranked at #204.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77