What Is Your Experience With These Online Food Delivery Businesses?

in #india5 years ago

2 months ago I was traveling in Europe for about 2 months and there were times when I didn't want to step out and wanted to order in but it wasn't possible, there wasn't an easy to use online food delivery system in place. So I'd have to stock up on items or go out in the cold to buy some food.

At the time I was wondering when such services would begin in my city. It's a smaller tier-2 city in India and not many restaurants here provided home-deliveries just yet. However, the story is different for bigger cities as they have several options round-the-clock.

Mobile_food.jpg

Source

Since I'm a foodie and love to try different cuisines and local food all the time, I was pleasantly surprised to return back and find Swiggy, Zomato and Uber Eats operating in full swing in my hometown-Mangalore.

Swiggy has been my favourite of the lot due to a consistent experience and good customer service compared to the other two.

The good thing about these apps as they are customer-focused and want to save your time, effort and also money.

They have discounts on my restaurants running all the time, the cost of traveling (time, energy and fuel) is a big saving in itself especially in this bear market. I get to order some food till 11PM if I feel like it and if your are having a party you don't need to take trouble of going to different restaurants to pick up the food anymore.

I have used these services in bigger cities at a lot when traveling and I was looking forward to them in my city and i'm happy to have them now. Although some of the restaurants I visit have complained about the margins they have to give to these online delivery businesses, and reduced walk-ins but their overall business has shot up.

It has also provided a lot of employment opportunities even though the work itself can be stressful and the delivery boys are usually riding recklessly on our streets.

However, people like myself who work out of the house and tend to feel lazy to head out for a quick bite are better off with the rise of these online food delivery services. It has saved me and my friends who use them countless hours in the past 2 months and quite a bit of money as well.

Do you use these kinds of services? What are your experiences with them. If you are not from India would take a minute to share your experience with such services if you have them in your city/country.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From International Steem Meetup #1—Malaysia
  2. Why You Should Vote For Firepower As Witness—Witness Campaign Post From India!
  3. Building A List Of Users From India—Please Fill This Form ASAP!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  

Barring a very few negative experiences(minimal in % compared to the good ones) my experience has been great and we are always ordering from the app. We as all the people that I know :)
Laziness is the biggest motivation I believe, followed by the offers/discounts :)

When I came back to India a few months ago my friends told me that they were ordering food online while standing outside the restaurant ...... Sweet deals from Swiggy, LoL! Ethics aside, I still couldn't help but laugh at our age old Indian Jugaadbaazi :-)

Wow. Actually i am just hearing about this delivery stuff for the first time

Swiggh is good no doubt..but have some pathetic exp with others. Once it happened that order was accepted ..and when it was not delivered on time they said we can not able to deliver not now...so it was pretty bad at night 10pm to look out for dinner...

Posted using Partiko Android

For me it was really a nice experience and i am really very happy and satisfied with there service as even i mostly wish to have food at my home.....as it is really very convenient for a lazy person like me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Zamato and swiggy will be my favorites app,whenever I feel bored to cook food at home but still now, we are deprived with this service in my locality.

Dude i used to run on these things in Holland and Im bunmed out that this is still so young in Switzerland.

See in Holland this is currently so affordable and fresh that especially when cooking alone this is almost a better option

I used all apps like Foodpanda, Zomato and swiggy but out of all swiggy is way better because of their services and customer care support. Now I am their SUPER and they provide me good offers along with free delivery.

Posted using Partiko Android

better for you and cheaper to cook your own.

Yes but not everyone has the luxury of time and patience to cook their favourite meals all the time. Not practical especially if you don't like cooking but only enjoying eating :P

Swiggy, Zomato and Uber eats are very popular in Chennai as well. I don't order regularly but I have done it few times and especially when they introduced Uber eats in Chennai. They gave 50% off on all the orders. We made use of the offer for our office treats. They did not have any restriction on the maximum limit. So if we order food for 10,000 Rs, 5000 will be flat off. We made use of this offer very well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23