The Land of the Free.....

in #immigration6 years ago (edited)

You know, it isn’t always easy to put your thoughts down on paper. I am no different, and I am someone that has had issues in the past with inspiration. I sit here for hours looking at my computer screen and think to myself that I should just write a few lines, simple thoughts that are running through my head just to put content out there. Doesn’t matter if it means anything, just put it out there. Then I remember that I believe in quality over quantity and I sit back and try and put thought into each and every post, whether it be sports-related or not. I have spoken about politics and other controversial subjects in the past, and since I am a man of a wide variety of interests, I reserve the right to move off of sports as often as I see fit.

I have spoken on my show that what happens in DC has very little to do with what happens in my life on a day to day basis. I don’t hide my political beliefs, all of my friends and coworkers know I lean toward progressive politics and causes. I also believe that I am in control of my destiny, What happens in Congress, or in the White House has no bearing on where I am going in my career or in my personal life. With that being said the political climate disturbs me, both sides are polarizing, both sides are corrupt, and both sides are at fault for what is going on in the country, no matter what side of the aisle you fall on. Without taking sides, I ask all those that read this that may have influence or a pulpit to broadcast from that has influence, to respect each other, to work together and look at all issues from a side of neutrality that will allow us to keep America great. I ask everyone to work towards a time that will allow America to continue to move forward, to continue to make this country the beacon of democracy, a beacon of freedom, and a place where those that are oppressed to reach out for an escape and hope that they will be accepted and embraced in the arms of freedom.

I will now quote a phrase that has been quoted by many, a statement that defines what this country is, no matter what side of the political spectrum you reside, this statement has been engraved in copper, in the statue that signifies the struggle of oppressed people around the world and has greeted immigrants to this country for over 130 years:

“Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me:
I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”

These words are embossed on the Statue of Liberty, and no matter what you believe or feel about the current political climate, those words ring true as to what this country is all about. there are no conditions, there are no exceptions and there are no requirements required by any individual searching for a better life. There is no “yeah but”: to this, it is written on the statue and has been the cornerstone of immigration in the country long before any of us have been around. It is not up for interpretation, and the words are not fluent, they are set, they are concise, and they epitomize the spirit of what America is. Unless you are an American Indian, we are ALL immigrants, whether our ancestors came to America during the influx in the early 20th century, or if you are a descendent of a passenger of the Mayflower (as I am).

I don’t care about the conditions, nor do I care what the “rule of law” is, the POLICY of separating children from their parents is not ethical, it is not humane, nor is is compassionate. Most, yes MOST of the immigrants entering this country at the southern border, or any border for that matter, are escaping atrocities and the threat of death in their own countries. they aren’t all from Mexico, they aren’t all criminals, and they aren’t all looking to take advantage of handouts from the government. They are looking to keep their families safe, to escape tyranny, to come to America for the opportunity to live without the threat of being killed.

I don’t expect everyone to agree with me, but if just one person can read this and understand what the country ACTUALLY stands for, it is worth it. Hate me for my beliefs, disagree with me if you want, but the fact remains that the United States of America is a country of immigrants whether your ancestors arrived in 1905, or 1620, they were all escaping oppression, whether it be for religious or political reasons. We have an obligation to all immigrants to provide them with the opportunity to achieve the American dream, as intended by the founders of this country.

I grew up during the Cold War, I grew up with the threat of nuclear war, but throughout all of that, despite the threat of Soviet ICBM’s, the one thing I could always count on is that those that were threatened by political persecution, those that were living under the threat of being killed by government forces, terrorists, drug dealers or the person that lived next door, always had the opportunity to come to America, where they could work to achieve the dream of Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of happiness without the threat of being killed or arrested because of their beliefs.

OK… I’m off my soapbox for now.. back to sports tomorrow…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87